Firelands: A Noob Remembers

This past weekend I went with the guild group to Firelands, because there were some people missing and needed some warm bodies.  Sousa is my most geared toon though he is still toting around a few heroic level items.  I took him along to help heal and switch to DPS as needed.  

Having only done some trash on Rossini before, I had no idea what any of the boss fights were like.  I’ve read lots of blogs so I had some idea of a few things.  Like, I knew there were feathers on Alys and that there’s some cat/scorpion phase thing…and lots of spiders. 

Anyways, here’s my recap of what happened, according to Sousa.

Shannox – Heals!  OMG why do you guys keep running out of range!  So much fire on the ground.  Ouch.

Beth – Heals!  Spiders everywhere.  Stack on butt.  “I made some rain you guys!  I hope you like it!”

Rock dude? – There’s right leg and a left leg, tank them apart and he’ll fall down?  I don’t know, don’t get in fire?  “Heal everyone.”  Neat?

Alys – DPS!  Interrupt the druids!  Yay!  Tornadoes are fun!  

Fire demon guy? – DPS!  Don’t go by some crystals!  DON’T STAND BY THE DOOR!!

Domo – Heals!  Stack up!  Make rain!  Run out?  Too slow.  Try again, more rain!!  Pounced!  Hold hands!  Don’t hold hands!  She loves me, she loves me not!  So much rain making.

Ragnaros – DPS!  Okay, hammer smash, not by me…lava wave?  WTF?  Try again.  This time not lava wave death.  Don’t touch the hammer!  Good!  Stack up and AOE…wtf is AOE on an enhancement shaman?  Totems LOL?  Attack!  Death.  Game over for us.

So we ended up 6/7.  Not so bad for my second time ever in Firelands.  I’m pretty amazing with my rain making.  Just saying. 

But seriously, thanks to the guild for being patient with my noobness and my potentially crappy heals.  Having never healed a raid before on my shaman I wasn’t quite up to speed on what I should be focusing on and what I shouldn’t be.  In 5-mans for example, I almost never use chain heal because everyone is not holding hands and it hits like one person.  But in raids, everyone is holding hands!  I make way more rain than I should in a 5-man, so that was easy to do in the raid too.  It was a lot of fun healing with Kerick, because I knew she’d save us if I was busy floor tanking with Bocat and/or Grom.  I’m teasing!!  😉

Thanks again, good times and pretty dresses.

13 Responses to “Firelands: A Noob Remembers”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Hahaha I bet that was a blast. Hope everyone else had a fun, relaxed run. 🙂 Thanks for helping out while Rev and I were off doing family stuff!

  2. repgrind Says:

    I *LOVE* your “I made some rain you guys” … so much awesome. Did you like my Tebow Time? Wait … you won’t know who he is anyway.

    Tornadoes ARE fun! Alys is my favorite fight.

    • zarigar Says:

      does fat rep have the same disgusting macro about toilet seat sandwiches?

      • Troutwort Says:

        I had no idea what Tebow Time meant…I just assumed it meant try harder?? At first I was worried I was gonna get T-boned by something, but then it happened on like every fight.

      • repgrind Says:

        Yes Zari .. it is macro’d to Guardian of Ancient Kings. Blame Slice!

        Tebow Time is macro’d to Avenging Wrath and was supposed to just be for Arv … but Saint happened to mention him before the raid and since he was filling in, I plugged it onto Kerick’s bar, too, since there would be at least one person there who would appreciate it. :p

        Trout, don’t worry about it, he’s a football player. 😉

      • Analogue Says:

        Oh! So that’s what it’s macro’d to! I thought it was that one thing – AM, right – only it doesn’t go off every time you AM so I was confused.

  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards Says:

    Congrats on your boss kills. I find Firelands is very rough for healers, so you should take some pride in surviving it all.

    I must confess, though, I do not agree tornadoes are fun. I hate Alysrazor with a burning passion — no pun intended.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thank you! I didn’t find the tornadoes to be too bad, I think I got hit once by one immediately when it started, but I seemed to manage it okay, I think. I mean I didn’t do anything else at the time except for run, so I don’t know if there was more I was supposed to be doing…if that is the case then I failed. LOL

      • Troutwort Says:

        I actually did better at dodging the tornadoes on Alys than I ever do on that one boss in Vortex Pinnacle…the dragon boss. Because Alys tornadoes had a pattern, not random madness.

      • repgrind Says:

        See, if you can go to Firelands and realize in just two pulls that the tornadoes have a pattern … you are already ahead of a lot of so-called raiders who don’t get that.

  4. wolfgangcat Says:

    It was a lot of fun having you along (especially your “comments” – LoL!)
    Hmmm…well, ummm…yes…I’m usually assigned to floor tanking when I’m not assigned to running directly into the tornadoes.
    I’m especially pleased you completely understood that dying first to something stupid is an honor reserved for a certain Shadow Priest 😉


Leave a Reply

