At That Point

I’ve reached that point in every expansion, where I’m excited about the new stuff to come (patch 4.3, Mists of Pandaria), but I’m completely bored right now.

Since it’s been a while since I’ve posted, Mists looks awesome!  Pandas look like fun, the Monk class sounds excellent.  Pet combat gives us something else to play with.  All good things, the game is expanding and not just in the Raid dimension.  That is awesome for those of us that aren’t all that into raiding.

Hallow’s End was excellent and I managed to get the title on Rossini.  But I just didn’t have enough time to get it done on others.  I also got rings for everyone and that pushed both Schubert and Troutwort into the “heroic ready!” category.  So I took Troutwort out in a heroic.  It was a good time for him. 

My good friend was supposed to come over last week to play WoW, but got in a car accident and couldn’t drive over.  But I had prepared by activating the second account and played his little hunter to catch him up to my warrior (at 33) and to get him some better gear so that when he start up again it’s not so painful.  That was a lot of fun playing the low level hunter, though more on that later.

But after Hallow’s End, I was sorta…bleh.  I leveled up the DK from 76 to 79 though it’s mostly for the Classy Gnomes guild achievement.  I’m not really into the DKs and I have no idea if I am doing anything right.  At least I finally trained to Raise Ally.  I seem to be doing o.k. dps for the most part.  I have a bunch of tank gear for her, but not sure if I want to use it.  I also sort of want to change her name and gender too.  But the kid I mentor made her and named her and so it would be…rude?

But I just haven’t been into WoW lately.  All my 85s would basically run either normal dungeons, or heroics and I really don’t have any dungeons that I even like in this Cata series, so it’s not like the other Xpacs where I at least liked some of the dungeons.  This one…there isn’t a single dungeon that I “like” to get.  So my desire to do heroics just isn’t there.  And there’s not much else on them…well professions maybe.  Archaeology on Elgar, but again, since I’ve done it so much and still fail to get any rares that I need or the epics…bleh.  I can’t keep doing it, the worst part there is the travel. 

The lack of end-game for a casual like me, left to the same heroics over and over and ones that aren’t even fun, is annoying, but like I said, I am hopeful with the next expansion!  So for now, the alts will probably get some love.  I’ve really been enjoying the low levels again, and Outland really isn’t that bad to me either, I find Northrend far more cumbersome.

Okay, end of gripe.  A post on low level dungeoning coming soon!

13 Responses to “At That Point”

  1. repgrind Says:

    Even for those of us who do raid, I think a lot of people are at the point where they’re bored outside of raid time. I mean, I’ve always had lots of alts, but my recent alt-creation binge probably speaks volumes about how much non-raid fun I’m having. (Hm, I’m bored, what alt should I make next ….)
    Maybe bored isn’t even the right term for it, because I’m certainly still enjoying the game … I’m just not focused on a goal right now outside of raid time so I’m puttering around.

    • Troutwort Says:

      True, at least I still have alt creation, and in the case of the second account, there are plenty of alts to create/level. Maybe I should focus on getting us the “Classy” achievements! Oy, that could be a tough one!!! And I think would require lots of Worgen alts!

  2. wolfgangcat Says:

    If you’re looking for fun, Mr. Pinchy says “Hi” 🙂

    LoL that sounds so wrong on so many levels….

    I’ve been alting-it-up lately because Bo’s got nothing to do at the moment except MF dailies (don’t need anymore marks), practice dummies or the ever popular ZA/ZG merry-go-round.

    Must be the pre-expansion blues. I’m looking forward to MoP so the usual stuff seems “old” already. Heck, I might even run one of my lowbie Horde PvP alts into SW just to gank me some Alli for fun 😀

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    I feel ya Trout. I actually haven’t been logging in other than to cycle through my cooldowns, Auctions and the JC daily outside of raids.

    One day I’ll get the urge to finish leveling failmage or the dorf lock on Winterhoof then something comes up and I just don’t feel like playing once the loading screen comes up.

    It isn’t even WoW, it is computer games in general. I’ve gotten a few “new” games and even those aren’t holding my interest. 99% of the time when I am online I am reading my reader. Now that I don’t have internet access at work (must get a smart phone!) I am so far behind on my reading I am just trying to keep up.

    I am looking forward to 4.3 for the new dungeons and raid. The raid finder might actually provide some post inspiration too!

    • repgrind Says:

      I miss you having internet access at work. I have to talk to Sorak all day now instead of you. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy harrassing him, but … girl talk, ya know?

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, I find that I log in and I just stare there. Having all my favorite classes maxed out is okay…but I don’t do anything with them, so they just sit there. Heroic dungeons are boring, really…none of those instances were fun to me. There isn’t one instance in Cataclysm that I say, I LOVE this place. But I did that with LK and BC. So either the design change is bad or…who knows? As for leveling the last of my alts…well there’s a reason they are last. I don’t like playing them as much. But the DK did hit 80, so at least she’s on her way to getting the gnome DK for classy gnomes to be done.

  4. Tyler F.M. Edwards Says:

    I know how you feel. It’s that dull time before the next patch where we just chase our tails waiting. I’m bored with the current heroics — I agree that the Cataclysm dungeons are rather uninspiring compared to past expansions’. I did love the Molten Front the first time through, but the grind is getting a bit old.

    There’s always alts, but even that gets old after a while. My warlock has just hit Outland… ugh. My shaman has run out of things to do in Northrend, so I guess I’ll have to move onto Cataclysm… also ugh, though not as bad as Outland. Maybe I’ll get him to 85 this expansion after all.

    I was most disheartened to learn 4.3 won’t be out until the end of the month at the earliest.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Cataclysm leveling really sucked. I like Hyjal, a decent zone. Vashir…meh, at first it’s cool, but it seems SO long. Deepholm I loathe because it’s a pain to get around it with it’s lack of AFK flying. Uldum is okay, though a pain to start. And Highlands were okay.

      • Tyler F.M. Edwards Says:

        I wouldn’t say it sucked, but I’ve done it all quite recently, so it’s too fresh in my mind for me to really enjoy getting through it again. I actually Hyjal and Vashj’ir were two of the best zones to date. Not really a fan of Uldum and Deepholm, but you can pretty much skip them anyway. Twilight Highlands… meh. I don’t love it, I don’t hate it.


Leave a Reply

