M.I.A. Concepts

Today I was sitting here thinking about new guild members or transfers to our server to join our guild.  For those that start fresh, they don’t have much gold, no large bags, etc.  And usually a guild will help out people by making runecloth or netherweave bags because that stuff seems to drop like candy anyways. 

Anyways, thinking about how we can help people out, and the blues we have in the guild bank, I though, it would be great if we could buy helms and cloaks with guild money to put into the guild bank.  WAIT.  Didn’t Blizz have this idea??

So then I got to thinking, yes, Blizz at one time announced BtG items (Bound to Guild), they were supposed to be crafted by the guild or otherwise and if a person who had the item left the guild the item would be returned to the guild bank.  So what ever happened with that?  I thought that system was awesome.  From a GL standpoint, it helps the guild be more attractive, and also more collaborative!  It offers something useful to all the rerolls.  Blizz, please bring this idea back!

Then I started thinking about other things that I was anticipating that never happened…and came across the most important idea that seemed to be lost:  Dance Studio.

Seriously, I didn’t see transmogrify coming.  They didn’t give us any hint of it until it was already pretty much completed, but the LK trailer advertised flat-out there would be a dance studio.  I am still waiting!!

I’m sure there have been many other concepts that have been scrapped as well, like the Path of the Titans thing (which I never really looked into or read about).  But man…seriously, dance studio.

12 Responses to “M.I.A. Concepts”

  1. Grimmtooth Says:

    I seem to recall that Path of the Titans got reworked into the top glyph tier or something like that.

    But yeah, totally missing that dance studio. I know our GM would KILL for the chance to rid her main of the Macarena.

    • Troutwort Says:

      LOL, I think every female human would pay for that!

    • ReversionLFG Says:

      If I recall right the Path of the Titans was also tied to Archeology but they did not want to force everyone to have to grind Arch. And they did not want to have a 3rd independent class customization to have to balance (3rd after talents and glyphs). Something like that. So they kept Arch as a fun semi-vanity thing and rolled the customizations into the third tier glyphs.

  2. slice213 Says:

    Dance studio…I think I would spend more gold there then on the transmog suff

  3. ReversionLFG Says:

    Based on some Bliz comments are last year’s blizcon they actually did do some work on dance studio and had some of it done. It was either not finished, had a technical issue, or just did not fit the concept they had for it at the time. They said they were planning on dusting it off some time. They were pretty vague about it.

  4. Analogue Says:

    What Rev said. As a creative person and a computer programmer both, I assure you, all those ideas? Are still floating around somewhere. Nothing ever gets thrown away. The Dance Studio might appear when we least expect it.

    Heck they need something cool for Burning Wrath of the Pandaclysm.

  5. wolfgangcat Says:

    I’d pay a few gold to get rid of the “I Dream of Jeannie” dance on my Priest, but I would never change the bear dance on my Druid!

    What I would pay *real* money for is some new hair styles that don’t look like bad Anime….ugh.

    And yes, the “Burning Pandas Chug-A-Lugging Brew” expansion sounds awesome 😀


Leave a Reply

