Why I Go Alone

There are people out there that probably haven’t run in a PUG…well, heck, maybe ever.  They would rather not run a dungeon than chance the inadequacies of the random player.  Not to defend the PUG, but I PUG nearly everything and find that 90%+ of my groups are successful with little or no real player error.  And if there is it’s usually not a totally big deal. 

I suppose that being the healer and having a little more control over the group helps as well.  I’m now to a point again where I am comfortable healing and even able to pull off some pretty awesome group saves. 

But there is one other reason that I PUG a lot on my healers.  And that reason is Call to Arms: Healer.  I won’t try to convince you any other way, than with pictures.

 

15 Responses to “Why I Go Alone”

  1. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, which dungeon did you get anyway? I was only half done with stupid Deadmines when you started squealing in gchat. lol. One of these days, my bag will have an Onyxian Drake in it …. last night it had 2 Earthen Potion. lol!

    Grats!

    • Troutwort Says:

      I think I did two by the time you did Deadmines, because both of mine were already in progress. I did BRC and Grim Batol.

      • repgrind Says:

        Well, I had a little wait, too .. since the first tank dropped as soon as we zoned in, and the second one lasted all of two pulls and didn’t know what death strike was. The DK we finally got was excellent, and we finished the place with only one casualty on the frogger part of the gauntlet.

  2. Analogue Says:

    Both? You lucky SOB!

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    GRATS!!!! That is so awesome!!!

    I’ve gotten one pet (white kitten) and mostly flasks or potions. I am so very jealous!

  4. khizzara Says:

    Grats! I’m very jealous too. LOL

    I’ve actually pugged a fair amount of dungeons in the past, but it seems like the healer CtA happens very rarely. Most of the time I just get potions or flasks, but recently I got a Giant Sewer Rat and one of the baby raptor pets (I forget which one, but I already had it on my main, so it went to my priest).

    Thing is, now that my main gets pretty much all her Valor through raiding I run far fewer dungeons on her. So mostly I run with my priest, and since I’m not as comfortable healing on her yet I usually try to run with people I know. So not very many satchels for me, alas.

    • Troutwort Says:

      CtA seems to happen in our group quite often. More than I really noticed before. Sometimes it’s even up long enough to get a couple in a row! Maybe we’re just in a good battlegroup that way. I think also most people are probably running trolls, so I see it on the non-trolls often.

  5. wolfgangcat Says:

    That is one beautiful drake – congrats!

    Yeah…Lil Timmy…camped him the other night for over an hour (well, druid needs a kitten), a shaman showed up right as he spawned beside me and snatched the kitten.
    I was so sad I just bought one off the AH 😦

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks! That isn’t a great screenshot, I’ll show you in person sometime! I think I have the other blue one too, not the proto-drake, but the regular style, I’m not sure who has it though.

  6. slice213 Says:

    high five to fellow owner of a blue proto drake! I got mine from good ol UK

  7. Chan Says:

    no way!!!! you lucky dog.

    despite how awesome that is, it still doesn’t trump me getting mythical mana potions in my tank satchels 7 times a week … go me.


Leave a Reply

