You Look Familiar…

I briefly mentioned that I was back into healing again, well sorta.  I really like it and though killing crap fast is awesome, I do really miss the glory days for Elgar and when I felt like an awesome healer.  Though I’m feeling better about him with his non-smite spec, I really have been focusing on Sousa the shaman.  I had collected quite a set of gear from heroics as a DPS and no one would take the mail, healy gear, so I have been healing some non-heroics to just get a feel for things.

I healed a bunch last Thursday and got enough JP to get a T11 healing piece, it was a huge upgrade.  And though his iLevel is something like 351 in his healing set, I just wasn’t sure I wanted to run heroics just yet–even though Blizz thinks I’m even good for Troll-heroics.  Ha!

I queued up for a non-heroic.  Thinking that I would get a practice one in and then maybe try a heroic.  At about 12 minutes into my 13 minute wait for a non-heroic, I get disconnected.  Dropping me from the queue.  I think to myself, well, I guess I should just go to bed.  But I figure, well what the heck.  And I queue for a heroic.  About two minutes later my dungeon pops.

Load-in screen….

FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Stonecore.

Seriously?  My first heroic to heal and it’s Stonecore?  I’m in and about to start frantically typing about how this is my first heroic and please use CC and go slowly and to access the tank when I see some people start talking in party chat laughing and saying how we’re dead now.  It’s Mightymoe and Chandrilea, current and former guild members, respectively.  I talked a bit before about how when I’m not feeling confident in my healing I queue alone because then I don’t have to face the shame of someone seeing me perform poorly.  But given that this is Stonecore, I couldn’t have asked for two better people to be helping me along!  Funny how random dungeon-finder put us together.

Moe is a tank and Chan was on his boomkin.  There was a huge sigh of relief on my end because Moe is an awesome pally tank.  One of the best I’ve seen.  I knew this would provide some wiggle room for my spastic healing.  It took me to about the first boss to really get in the groove and then it was smooth sailing from there.  I had one death at the beginning because I was flailing around yet and forgot to drop totems and stood in a whirlwind…whoops.  But the best part of my death is that I died and I see in party chat an e-mote that Chan is battlerezzing me, but before he can get the spell off, he dies too.  Ha!  I don’t know why, it made me laugh.

The whole thing went great and though I still am using weapon of the green-random, I did manage to get enough rep with Wildhammer to get the mail healing helm, which replaced my other green.  I really need to get a weapon or else start saving my truegold to have one made.

So there we go, my first heroic as a healing shaman, it was awesome especially with Moe and Chan.  Thanks!  I’m not sure a Stonecore will ever go so well again.  Ha!

8 Responses to “You Look Familiar…”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    There is a really nice healer mace out of Blackrock Caverns and you could probably find a pretty good weapon on the AH.

    Keep up the healing! 🙂

  2. Analogue Says:

    Aww! That’s awesome! I guess the dungeon finder luck was on your side for once! It’s hilarious when you randomly get guildmates, we got Whodowhat one time 🙂

  3. repgrind Says:

    lol nice. If you can survive Stonecore, you’re good to go.

  4. Chan Says:

    ha ha ha, please god don’t let moe read that.

    it was an awesome run (from what i remember … being half blitzed doesn’t help me remember much).

    nice work man.


Leave a Reply

