Thoughts on Raiding, Dailies

First off, congratulations to Crits and Giggles for completing all of the content up to 4.2!  Not only did the Friday/Saturday raid get Nefarian down on Friday night, but the Sunday/Monday group was able to get Nefarian and Al’Akir down.  This completed the pre-4.2 content for both raid groups.  I am so proud of the groups and though they finished after 4.2, they did well getting as far as they did prior to 4.2.  Congratulations to all and congrats on the new mounts earned for the guild!

So I went raiding with the Friday/Saturday group on my Warlock.  He had maybe a half-dozen epics and then mostly heroic dungeon gear, but a few normal items as well as a green wand.  Damn you Blizzard for your lack of wands at 85.  Seriously. 

The experience was mostly good.  Nefarian isn’t a very complicated fight, compared to something like Lich King.  It’s all about managing the cooldowns and kiting the adds.  The group was pretty well-organized and though we had several of us that had never done it before, including one tank, we progressed and got it done.  We went over did some firelands trash for a bit, then went to kill Al’Akir.  Saturday we did BoT downing Choga’ll and finished the whole place in about 1.5 hours.  Not a single piece of DPS cloth dropped.  Sad day.  The good news is that with the changes to the way I was doing rotation and therefore some of my glyphs, I really managed to do better than I thought.  Not too shabby for having gear that wasn’t ideal. 

While seeing this content was fun, and a good time, I honestly have to say, I don’t know how you people do this.  Raid, every week, hours on end.  At about 1.5 hours into our 4 hour scheduled raid, I was done.  I started to get sloppy in play, I was tired, restless, I wanted to have someone say, “Okay, we killed Nef, everyone have the night off!”  But you people are relentless!  Ha!  I mean, if you love it, good for you, but I was quickly reminded why I play the game the way I do.  Raiding is not for me.  But kudos to all that can do that, throwing yourselves mercilessly towards death repeatedly often for nothing.  Wow.  I’m not sure if I should be scared of you, or respect you.  Ha!

It was a good experience though, and I was glad I could help the group out, at least with Nef.  I’m pretty sure I was pretty useless on all other fights we did.

I also wanted to comment on the dailies in Firelands.  I love the progression of the druids across the firelands, the storyline is pretty good, and it feels good too, like things are moving, the world is alive.  And it looks like an epic battlefield out there.  Good job Blizz!  However, I do wish it was more Quel’Danas style, where the server as a whole worked together to open up the next section, the next vendors, etc.  This is crazy.  To have to do this repeatedly on each toon to get my 150 marks?  Insanity.  No thank you.  I’m pretty sure that I’ll send one or two through it and that’s it.  If it was server progressed, I would probably do it on more toons, to help the cause, but knowing that each one will have to do this repeatedly to unlock it for himself?  No way.  This is when the game starts to feel like work to me and not like fun.  I would rather dig up archaeology finds than repeat those dailies for months on all my toons.  So, I give them credit for making the area feel epic, however boo to it being individual and not server wide progression.

Back at work today, good times.  Was a busy weekend with raiding and fire festival stuff.  I finally got Flame Warden on Elgar…should have done it on Rossini, but as always I resort to “next year…”

11 Responses to “Thoughts on Raiding, Dailies”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Yeah, we’re crazy but I love raiding! Half is the group we’ve put together. I think you must have seen this weekend just how much fun we can have. Working on the fights as a team, working together to gear up and learn – it’s awesome. Yes, dying over and over gets old, but so what? Gives me an incentive to stay playing the auction house – I gotta pay our repair bills somehow!

    Doing the dailies on multiple characters doesn’t annoy me nearly as much as the thought of doing the Thrall quest chain on multiples. Fortunately I don’t have to do that quest to get to the dailies…

  2. koalabear21 Says:

    Raiding is fun, but I will admit that it isn’t for everyone.

    • Troutwort Says:

      I think it’s awesome that people do it. It’s interesting to me what drives it. I was really surprised to hear people talking so much about loot during the raids. It was clear that loot is still a primary factor in raiding. I care about loot so little that I had forgotten it as a driving factor.

      • ReversionLFG Says:

        Remember when raiding progression style, loot is progression and progression is loot. 1 or 2 pieces of gear around a raid group can be the difference between killing a boss and wiping all night. I know people say that ‘skill > gear’ but that is for variable groups. Once your group is fixed or semi fixed then skill and gear both slowly increase but they only trade off to a certain degree. And loot is the measureable part. I might raid for hours and hours to get better as a player… but how do I measure that? Well be getting bosses down certainly but there is no instant feedback to tell me that I am not 4% faster at interrupting or 5% better at positioning the boss. Meters show some but at the end of the day it comes down to boss kills and gear. Once you have a boss on farm then it is only gear…. And every slot of gear is a nice and clear cut step toward getting the next boss down. I could say that getting gear does not motivate me but since getting gear is 100% tied to killing bosses then they are pretty well tied together.

  3. repgrind Says:

    It was fun having you along. Sorry you don’t enjoy it that much.

    I kind of agree on the dailies. I wasn’t around for Quel’danas so I can’t compare it to that. It compares more to the Argent Tourney style. Although, I’ve done the AT on multiple toons and didn’t mind grinding it out more than once, so … I dunno. One toon at a time though is enough for now (or one toon on each server at least.)

    • Troutwort Says:

      Well, raiding isn’t my thing. But of course I was glad to have helped everyone out! That was my motivation, I was most concerned with being good enough to get the job done. I knew how long you had been working at it! So I was glad I could provide a steady source of DPS.

      Yeah, it’s very Argent Tourney style, and I still haven’t completed all the factions on any toon over there. I think Elgar got the closest before doing it on too many other toons burned me out of it completely. The thing with the Isle of Quel’danas is that even though it continued to open up as the server progressed, the original dailies and quests were still there, so you wouldn’t really “miss out” on anything on your second toons. But they could also by-pass some because the work had been done by the others. It was much more “real world” feeling.

  4. khizzara Says:

    Grats on your Nef kill and your first foray into Cataclysm raiding! I’m sure you performed admirably. 🙂

    I’m a raider through and through, so I find your style of play a bit perplexing. I mean, I like alts, and I like having multiple professions so I’m mostly self-sufficient, but questing and playing the AH and grinding rep gets really boring for me. I like running dungeons and raiding, and most of my other in-game activities are to support my raid habit. I’m not very motivated by gear though. I like getting new gear, but I feel like I get gear in order to raid rather than raid in order to get gear.

    I’m glad that there’s enough “stuff” in WoW to suit both our play-styles though. 🙂

    • Troutwort Says:

      Oh, there’s not enough to support my playstyle, it’s one of my biggest gripes about the game. 😛 If you don’t raid, there isn’t much else to do. Hence why I have all the alts, I’d hit a wall, so start over with something new and do some new professions, etc. AH and rep grinding bores the heck out of me too. I don’t have any toon with all exalted for the new Cata reps yet. And raiding is good now and then, but I can’t sit as long as you all seem to be able to and do the same thing. I’m too… “oooh, shiney!”. Ha! But I’m glad there are people out there that do, because raiding drives most game development and along with raiding patches there are usually scraps for the rest of us–like old Tier sets. 😛

  5. Byeble Says:

    This is more like a general question for everyone… but if I wanted to join, say raids for content up to Patch 4.2 or Firelands trash rep runs… what do you recommend I get my iLvl too? Again, I’d like everyone and anybody’s opinion.

    • Analogue Says:

      If you want to do pre-4.2 stuff, just be in 346 gear – heroic dungeon or better. One or two slots of 333 is ok. A few pieces of Justice Points gear maybe.

      About the same for Firelands. If you’re dpsing, be able to do at least 10k dps. Tanking – have 130k+ health WITHOUT gemming stamina, you need to gem mastery and avoidance stats.

      More important than gear is knowing your class and spec. My raid won’t be going this weekend, but I’ll remember that you’re interested in going, if we need fill-ins in the future. Cael/Doofensmirtz is running on Friday and Saturday nights too so if you talk to him he might have a spot (probably not, I think they’re short healers).


Leave a Reply

