Sousa, The Thunderer

In the spirit of the 4th of July, and the great American composer, John Philip Sousa, I will celebrate this week by playing WoW almost exclusively as Sousa, while listening to his marches (maybe).  Besides, the Thunderer march seems totally appropriate for shaman.  It just happened to work out that way.  Just like how Haydn’s Surprise Symphony was ironically appropriate for the rogue.  Had I planned more appropriately, Elgar should have been a hunter for his work called Nimrod–part of the Enigma Variations.  But I digress…as usual.

So Sousa the shaman has been and continues to get much attention lately.  I don’t see this changing in the future.  I have raved about how much I have been enjoying him.  Last night I did another HoO…this place is the Cataclysm equivalent of the HoL to me.  I hate it.  Hate it.  I don’t know what it is, I just don’t like HoO…and yet it is the dungeon I get the most!  WTF?!?  What did I do to deserve this?!?!  So Sousa is in another HoO and getting no upgrades as usual.  Finally a ring drops.  He replaced his 288 ring with this 333 and bam, he’s heroic ready!  Pulling about 11k DPS I do feel confident to hold my own in a heroic.  So I’ll start doing some of those.

I’m hoping to score some Resto gear that no one wants as well.  I haven’t tried healing anything just yet as his set is pretty week, but hopefully I’ll get some scraps from heroics to beef up his set so I can try healing some normals.  I will say this, I do feel really excited about playing the shaman and improving his gear, something that I haven’t felt in a long time.  I still won’t say I have a main, but I will say I have a class I am enjoying the most.

Posted in DPS, Shaman. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Sousa, The Thunderer”

  1. slice Says:

    🙂

    Love your toons names! I shoulda thought about that.

    But…are your alts still higher rep with the guild then trout? 😛

  2. wolfgangcat Says:

    Interesting..yes, I can definitely see that as appropriate Shaman music. Got me thinking about what would be appropriate for a Priest…why Wagner, of course! I should re-name my priest to Isolde….

    Let me know how those Heroics go – I’m still to chicken to try one myself 😉


Leave a Reply

