Tearing It Up!

Sousa the shaman has hit 85!  Yay!  That makes #4, with two others at 83.

Playing the shaman is great fun, it’s really a class I can get into because it has everything I like in one of the three specs.  Though I have been doing enhancement for a long time now.  Enhancement is great fun and, as I previously posted, has such versatility that I feel unstoppable…well except for that quest in Uldum, where I forgot to use my cloaking device and the elites killed me.

Anyways, I finished up questing and did a few dungeons along the way.  My DPS was very solid in the 8-9k range however on some boss fights I could get it up to 11 or 12, which isn’t too bad for a level 84 with crappy weapons.  I felt completely confident in Stonecore and Vortex Pinnacle to solo and lock out casters which were “lose”.  Interrupting the major spells and using the wolves to keep myself healed, I would toss everything I had at them to keep them off the healer and still able to maintain my own heals so as to not have the healer feel they needed to heal 2 tanks.  I still have to figure out Stonecore on that one boss with the reflect…I don’t get it as melee. 

But everything else was awesome.  And I would top the meters in most my dungeons and in one did 38% of all the damage for the instance, which impressed me since I sometimes feel like I’m just mashing buttons, but apparently, I’m doing something right!

So now that he’s 85, I would like to focus on him some more, getting gear and such, I’m really having fun with him, so I had been collecting all sorts of gear from questing along the way and got myself a healing spec.  I sorta set up my cast bars and hope it works out, the spells seem really great and hopefully I’ll be able to get the hang of it.  It doesn’t seem too bad actually.  And it looks like maybe I picked up the correct talents when compared to other shaman around Stormwind…I noticed one inconsistency, but I’m not sure how critical it is.  But I might try my hand at healing now and then to get some better queues.  I’ll probably try to finish up some reputation grinds before that though.  We’ll have to see how this plays out.  I’ve heard both good and bad things about shaman healers, so we’ll see.  I figure it can’t be any worse than Disc priest!

Hopefully I’ll get a chance to try one out before this weekend.  I’m heading fishing again this weekend so sorry WoW, I’ll be back Sunday evening!

Oh!  One last thing, Troutwort finally got his Green Proto Drake from his Oracle egg.  I’ve been diligently hatching an egg since Cataclysm on Trout so it’s about time.  That makes 5 Green Proto Drakes now.  Sibelius and Kalinnikov were the only level 80s never to get one, Sib went Frenzyheart since he has druid flight form, and I just don’t even know about Kalinnikov.  Ha!

8 Responses to “Tearing It Up!”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    I’m so happy to hear that you found a spec that brings you so much fun! Listening to our shaman in guild, enhancement is a blast, period.

    Grats on your drake too!

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks, I don’t want to be too “jumpy” at saying I found my new class, but maybe it all makes sense. Hmmm, blog post idea happening. But anyways, I really am enjoying the enhancement shaman and for the first time since Cataclysm am actually really looking forward to working torwards more with him.

  2. slice Says:

    Grats!!!!!

    And grats on the drake…I am impressed by those who have that kinda patience. I saw what i needed to do, and I was like F that. Same thing happened to the baby raptor in Ungoro.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Grats on 85!

    On Ozruk as melee .. you don’t have to do anything other than run out of shatter. In heroic mode, melee swings will put a bleed on you that breaks you out of the paralyze.

  4. Ado Says:

    Time to gear that Shamman for raiding and actually go on a raid!


Leave a Reply

