I’ll Never Forget

This last week, my roommates dog struggled battling a disease of the blood.  Her body decided to attack and destroy her red blood cells.  While sometimes this can be overcome, she did not win the battle.  While she was not my dog, in a way she was.  Since I moved in here over a year ago, she has spent every night either sleeping in my room or in my bed.  We’d spend hours playing WoW together, usually her growling or barking when I’d loot gold–she didn’t like the clinky noise.  She was my buddy, and I’d get home from work and say “Come on, Charlie, time to go play video games!” And she’d race me up the stairs and into my bedroom where we’d hang out for the rest of the evening. 

This, for me, has been a terrible loss.  One I would equate with losing a best friend.  And so while I still can see though the tears, I will share this picture.  One of Charlie hanging out under my desk.  That face of hers I was too familiar with, and will miss forever. 

12 Responses to “I’ll Never Forget”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Losing an animal friend is hard. So sorry for you.

  2. repgrind Says:

    Awww poor Charlie. I didn’t even know her and yet I cried when you texted me. I’ve been through that before, and will face it again someday. It’s never easy.

    *hugs*

  3. koalabear21 Says:

    I am so sorry to hear this hun.

  4. khizzara Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I know how hard it is to lose a dog, I’ve gone through it several times myself. Not sure what else I can say, but my thoughts are with you. 😦

  5. Troutwort Says:

    Thank you everyone for your kind thoughts and words. This was a very sudden loss and took her far too young. I appreciate everyones sympathy.

  6. lagalot Says:

    That sucks. Are you going to get another? Fifteen years from now it’ll be the same deal, but it was worth it, yes?

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yep, though she wasn’t mine, and before knowing this sweetie I would have never owned a Corgi myself, she was adorable and now is the time to start to focus on all the good memories and great times we had together.

  7. ReversionLFG Says:

    Hang in there man. I lost one of my kitties a few months ago and it was very sudden. One evening we noticed she was feeling bad and the next morning we were at the vet and she purred out her last breath in my arms. Apparently they sometimes dont show an signs of cancer until it is far too late.

  8. Gromitdaddy Says:

    This was just too close to what we went through far too recently. And she was a cutie as well. We are so very sorry for your loss, and send you all our support.

  9. zarigar Says:

    I’m sorry. She looks like she was such a sweetheart.

  10. wolfgangcat Says:

    I’m so sorry for you loss. I lost my beloved dog Cleo last summer, and as someone who loves pets, I understand how difficult it can be at these times.


Leave a Reply

