Cata Dungeons Are Meh…

Quick, what’s your favorite dungeon in Cataclysm?

Got it?

Now, why?

For me this is not an easy question, and I feel this is why I just haven’t been into Cataclysm all that much.  We’re 5 months in now and I have 3 level 85 toons.  Considering how quickly you can level up there really is no excuse why I still have so many hanging at 80 or 81.  Even my 85s don’t have all exalted reps.  I just really have not been into this expansion as a whole.  I was thinking about why, and one of the things I really spent lots of time on at max level in past expansions was dungeons.  I never got into raiding too much, sure I’ve had a few stretches, but they usually last less than a few months.  Or I’d just fill in as I could.

Okay, quick, what was your favorite BC dungeon?  Now, what was your favorite LK dungeon?

For me those questions are much easier to answer.  I can quickly come up with my favorite dungeons and on which characters and why.  I’ll share that with you now and try to explain that while things are fresh and new in Cataclysm, I’m really just not finding what made it exciting in the past.

If I had to pick a favorite dungeon in Cataclysm, I pretty much come up empty.  There really isn’t a single dungeon that I am “excited” to see the login screen for.  I think Throne of Tides is the closest one because I like the way it looks.  Under the sea adventure at least makes the dungeon entertaining to look at.  The fights are pretty straight forward, and if needed, my Warlock has proven he can solo the 3rd phase of the final boss.  😉  Though I wouldn’t say I love Throne of Tides, it’s more so the one I dislike the least.

In LK there were several that I really liked.  ToC was the first that comes to mind.  I don’t know why, it was really fun though, and “Look up in the rafters…” never gets old.  There was just something really fun about that place.  It was short, the fights changed based on the champions you got and jousting.  Violet Hold was also another favorite, I think because the pace was kept for you and again the variable bosses kept a little bit of excitement in the dungeon.  This is also why I liked CoS too.  Besides seeing draenei turn into nasty looking balding humans, this instance also provided a little bit of variability with spawn points and having a timer was fun too–and I like the drama of the CoT instances, those have always been cool because they go back in time.  I keep hoping we see Dornaa in one of them though–there has to be a reason they attack her during Children’s week…  Lastly, I was probably one of the few, but I liked Old Kingdom.  The final fight in there was very fun and kinda felt a little like PvP for me.  I always enjoyed it and don’t think I ever died during the insanity phase.

In BC, my favorite dungeons were actually some of the more challenging ones at times.  I REALLY liked Botanica and I don’t know why–I think the extra herbs and the fact that on Elgar I got to use MC to give the casters that 120 spell power buff.  That was awesome.  I also liked Steamvaults though that one wasn’t always pretty, and of course Magister’s Terrace.  I also liked Shadow Labs for the same reason I liked Old Kingdom, fighting your fellow party members is hilarious and everyone is all “I’m so sorry!!” during that second boss in Shadow Labs.  That made for some really good times. 

I can’t exactly say why it is I don’t find the new Cataclysm dungeons exciting…perhaps it’s a matter of why they are where they are.  Just why do I care about the Tolvir again?  At least I knew why I was fighting the Hellfire orcs, the naga in Underbog, and the nerubian in Azjul-Nerub.  I guess I just don’t know why I’m fighting anyone in the Cata dungeons except maybe the naga again and the guys in Grim Batol/BRC.  The rest are just… there?  Of course I could be missing lore since I never did finish up Uldum. 

Okay, long post is getting really long.  But I thought about this today and why I really have been neglecting my level 85s and current content for things like running Shadow Labs again or the hundreds of other “Oh Shiny!” things that I come across.  Cataclysm looked awesome and I was really excited about the world changes and what not.  Perhaps that’s it too, perhaps I feel I have so much to see that I don’t want to miss anything and therefore would much rather look at what I know and how it changed compared to the new things that aren’t really keeping me entertained.  I just can’t figure it out, but after this post, I can confirm that Cata dungeons just don’t excite me like dungeons did in LK and BC.

12 Responses to “Cata Dungeons Are Meh…”

  1. repgrind Says:

    Get your ilevel up so you can come do troll dungeons with us! They have lots of fun stuff in them. Once we get good enough at them that they only take an hour to run, you will enjoy them. Right now though, they’re almost like mini-raids, ZG especially.

    And finish Uldum, or at least the Ramkahen parts of the questlines.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, but even if I finish the questlines, it’s not like when I would queue in LK and actually go “Yes!” when I saw the login screen because it was a place I liked.

  2. Analogue Says:

    I think you will like the troll dungeons. Really! They are cool and just feel more like an adventure.

  3. ReversionLFM Says:

    I can’t say I really cared for any of the BC runs. They were so very ‘meh’ compared to the old world ones. I might say ramps but I have run it far far far too many times.
    In Cata… Not sure. I like most of them. DM is pretty nifty… probably lost city. In WotLK I might say PoS… for the same reasons as lost city. The way they are layed out makes it really feel like you are in a place that is bigger than just they parts you go through.
    I got to say, the more I think about it the more I think BC runs were all garbage compared to Cata runs.

    • repgrind Says:

      I fully expect to log on tonight, check the guild logs, and see ‘Reversion has been kicked out of the guild by Troutwort.’

      • Troutwort Says:

        LOL! While I disagree with Reversion, I cannot kick him out–even as a joke.

        But really?!? BC runs worse compared to Cata runs? No one ever gets the login screen and goes “Yes! Stonecore, my favorite!”

      • repgrind Says:

        Well at least I gave you ideas. lmao! Our wipe in ZA could be partly blamed on me watching you purge the people who haven’t logged on in months.

        And Arelin would dearly love to get Stonecore. It’s the one non-troll heroic he hasn’t done yet.

      • Troutwort Says:

        You know what random heroic I’ve never gotten yet? Shadowfang Keep. Just doesn’t appear, I always get Grim Batol…

        Ah yes, the purging. Another reason it’s critical that people mark alts. 😛

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    I don’t think I have a favorite dungeon. I have a favorite raid (Ulduar) but I honestly can’t say I have a favorite dungeon.

    I do know that I have several dungeons that I just HATE, both in Wrath and in Cata. I didn’t get the opportunity to run dungeons in BC. I mean I did them all on PPP, but that was disc healing them so it wasn’t quite the same viewpoint that I view them on Lyssi.

    I guess if I had to pick one in Wrath it would be Halls of Lightning. Not because I particularly liked it but because of an inside joke with my friend with the first boss.

    I think HoO is my favorite to dps in Cata and VP is my favorite overall. Mostly because it is so pretty.


Leave a Reply

