Holiday

The only real holiday I enjoy is “Holiday” by Madonna.  I suppose that’s not entirely true… but still.  The surge of recent holidays in-game is both fun and frustrating at the same time.  I’ll review them both quickly with my reasons why I do and do not like them.

Noblegarden
1) Pros – Minipets and no requirements for PvP or max level.
2) Cons – Limited egg spawning locations = high competition over just one week duration.  Too much reliance on RNG–my paladin opened over 350 eggs and never got a rabbit foot, tuxedo pants, or elegant dress.  I gave up on the holiday after foolishly spending hours collecting eggs.

Children’s Week
1) Pros – Lots of Minipets!  Adorable bastard children everywhere!  No RNG.
2) Cons – PvP and dungeon requirements for meta-achievement.  If it were simply win or participate in the BGs I would be more satisfied, but because they are asking you to do very specific things that are sometimes easier for one class or one faction than the other(s) it is very annoying.

I’ll spend lots of time getting the mini-pets again this year for Children’s week.  Elgar was the only one lucky enough to finish Noblegarden this year, my druid did it last year.  And Elgar is the only one to have completed Children’s week as those PvP achievements basically made me want to cry so hard last year.  Elgar to this day wears his Patron title because IMO, it was worse than getting Kingslayer.

10 Responses to “Holiday”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    So I shouldn’t tell you that my dorf lock got the pet on the first egg huh?

  2. repgrind Says:

    You do know you could buy those items with the eggs you collected, right? 350 should have been enough to complete the title easily.

    • Troutwort Says:

      You only get certain achievements buy finding them, not buying them. 😦

      • koalabear21 Says:

        But those ones are counted in the meta though.

        I think you get the pet achievement no matter how you get it.

      • Troutwort Says:

        I was so annoyed with the holiday in general, I mean I even had to buy my flowers on him to attempt to put rabbit ears on people. The RNG was SO bad that I just gave up. I knew too that if I logged on another toon to pick eggs they would get exactly what I needed, just to spite my Paladin. Ha! 😛 Oh well, I hate Noblegarden.

  3. wolfgangcat Says:

    PvP achieves make me cry. Still can’t get one bg objective, and whoever said Hail to the King, Baby is easy to solo at 85…well, I can’t get past the harpoon room 😦

    I might try the bg again just for laughs, but I don’t think I need another big repair bill from Utgarde Pinnacle.

    At least I got a couple of new pets 😀

    • repgrind Says:

      Even on regular … Skadi is tough if you’re not a tank/plate wearer. I bugged it out thinking I could bypass it that way but no … the door stays closed. So I had to take my time and kill my way through it, which as a holy paladin took awhile but I was never in any real danger of dying or running out of mana. I can’t see doing it on a priest, I’m just not skilled enough at priest to manage it. I’d be happy to take my DK tank along with you to blow through it.

      As for the BGs … I might try some on one of my other toons. I’d go along with you and try for it one more time if you want.

      • Troutwort Says:

        I can help too, I’m always up for shenanigans! I see too you can still complete some of the Noblegarden achievements. I might have to do that. 😛

  4. slice213 Says:

    that is why I avoid holidays like the plague….frustrations upon more frustrations. Although, the only holiday event I would do i brewfest! nice and easy to do!

    • Troutwort Says:

      True, Brewfest is a nice one! I do with they all were a minimum of two weeks. I suppose some people think that’s too long for some of them, they get bored, whatever, but I am usually busy celebrating the real holiday such that with travel and RL I sometimes hardly have time for the in-game holiday as well. Oh well. Pilgrim’s Pride is the worst for that!


Leave a Reply

