Victim of Call to Arms

Dear Internet,

I have a confession, I am the person you were worried about.  The person driven by the Satchel of Mysterious Goods (or whatever its name is).  The person who queues for a heroic because they have run Baron so many times that the chance to get his mount outside of Stratholme is very desirable. 

So yes, I queued as a healer for a heroic because it was Call to Arms: Healer.

Now, I will be the first to admit that I have no business healing a heroic.  I am still adjusting to Cataclysm healing styles, working in more smites, etc.  I still seem to really have lots of trouble when melee in particular take lots of damage.  I always lose them first.  But anyways, another reason I shouldn’t be healing is that my gear is still lacking, though the computer says I’m geared for heroics, I still have three greens (gloves, wand, wrists) and I think only one epic (alchemy trinket).  I also am missing a few enchants.  I just hate enchanting gear that in one run (even a normal) could be replaced.  I just don’t seem to get lucky with drops!

I should do more questing to get rep up.  I’ll work on that soon.

So back to the story, so Elgar healed.  And much to my horror, it was HoO.  Now granted it could have been worse, I still have never been to SFK, so if that would have popped it would have been worse since I’ve never seen those fights, even as DPS–I can’t believe I’ve never been randomed to it, even on Rossini.  Anyways, the tank had 188k health.  That seemed like a lot.  So that was good, there was however, no CC used.  I lost the tank twice on trash, once on the first boss (we all died then, tank was last though), and once on one of the elemental bosses.  I felt like it wasn’t going well.  We skipped to the final boss, which was okay with me.  I was REALLY worried about being able to heal through the final boss when he does his mucho AOE.  But it went awesome.  I lost the hunter, but he was out of range.  PROTIP TIME:  Run toward your healer, not away.  But during the AOE everyone collapsed, hid under my PW:Barrier and I spammed AOE heals with PoM bouncing about.  Yay!  Cost a ton of mana, but I had shadowfiend ready once we were out of that attack and all was well.  I was REALLY excited and happy!  I figured if I lost the tank on trash, that was bad, but healing through that final HoO boss and one-shotting him was awesome! 

Ado congratulated me and said do it again!  I told him, it’s best to quit while you are ahead. 

It did feel good, I’m still not really confident in my ability to heal as things currently are.  But at least I know it’s not impossible!  I just need more practice and to really finish up questing/rep gear.  Normal dungeons give decent amounts of JP too, so I can use those to improve my areas of poor gear.

He’ll get there, he’s still my favorite toon, but there are many a day where I wish Elgar felt as good healing as I did in LK or BC.

Thanks for listening, Internet.  I promise not to recklessly join a queue for Satchels too often.

11 Responses to “Victim of Call to Arms”

  1. wolfgangcat Says:

    Congrats on healing a Heroic!

    Anything interesting in the Satchel of Mysterious Goods? Like maybe an extra Reins of the Raven Lord you don’t need? 😀

  2. Analogue Says:

    I’m so glad you mostly enjoyed yourself! Poor Elgar was in danger of being deleted a while back!

    • Troutwort Says:

      I could never actually delete his moustache, it just makes me so sad that I feel that because Elgar is damaged goods, I no longer have a class I love playing the most.

  3. lagalot Says:

    no CC used == I lost the tank twice on trash

    cause and effect, bet the boss deaths were similar

    I’m not so sure this satchel thing is worth solo queing into troll heroics, them things have soooo many pugmagnets to stand in

  4. Ado Says:

    I queued random troll alone and came into the final boss fight of ZG. Three wipes and a new tank later and the boss was down. It helped that combined the DPS in the group threw 42K DPS at the boss for the 4 minute duration.

  5. koalabear21 Says:

    Grats again! It will get easier and easier the more you do it.


Leave a Reply

