Ouch!

So as I recently have written about, I have started healing again on my disc priest Elgar.  Just normal dungeons to make sure I’m getting the hang of disc healing in Cataclysm.  I would pick up healing stuff even when running as Shadow and have a pretty decent set of normals.  I have been trying out a few things and have kinda been figuring out how to heal.

Here are a few things I’ve noticed:  I actually cast greater heal more than any other healing spell and it accounts for usually most of my healing done, followed by Penance.  Most absorption comes from PW:Shield, and most my overheals from Atonement, because if people are at good health and not taking much damage, I Smite.  I’ve been using Inner Focus a lot as well.  Basically with the greater heals I’m using to fill in between penance, I can get it down to about a 20 second cooldown, which is pretty awesome. 

So that’s kinda what I’m doing, I’m sure I will still need to adjust, but it seems to be working pretty well, especially with tanks that mark and CC things.

One frustration I am having is dispelling.  We were in Grim Batol last night and there were so many things popping up on my decursive to dispel.  The trouble is, when I’m healing frantically and seeing these things pop up, I don’t know if things like Water Blast are worth dispelling or not because I don’t have the time to read the tool-tip on what it actually is.  I let poor Grom die by not cleansing him of a DoT that I should have.  I didn’t realize it was a DoT until too late.  So that is a frustrating thing because I’m not sure if I should waste time cleansing or not.  And in Grim Batol there are a LOT of magics to dispel.

I was a little sad too at the lack of CC.  I’m not sure how much health a tank should have at 85 to be running normals, but it started out okay, but somewhere in the middle things just seemed much more difficult for me.  I marked mobs on one group and it went much better than the previous ones.  I felt bad when the tank died on trash…though I knew it wasn’t my fault.

He did say one thing that really stung though…I didn’t respond to it.

Tank:  No offense, but I’m guessing that healing is your off-spec.

Ouch.  I almost dropped group, had I not had the support of 3 other guildies there with me, I might have.  I knew I could do it, I’ve done Grim Batol before!  So I just held in there, thanked him for the group at the end and then having had enough for the night, logged off to play Minecraft, which repeatedly crashed on me, so I played Civ V. 

This weekend, I’ll be up at my brothers.  I am expecting to get lots of WoW in while watching his dog.  He’s got a really sweet system that can handle all the graphics on Ultra compared to mine which handles them on Low. 

I’m trying not to let that healing situation bug me, but again, it all goes back to feeling like this is what I do and having someone say “healing is your off-spec” really stings.  Elgar has never had healing as an off-spec.  His history was healing, healing, healing.  I got a Shadow Spec late in LK so that I could do dailies faster, but I was horrible at it.  I really didn’t “play” shadow until after the other bad healing experience in Cataclysm. 

So I want to ask Blizzard, why why why did you have to mess with my healing?  You wanted to make it more fun?  You have failed.  It was fun before.

18 Responses to “Ouch!”

  1. ReversionLFM Says:

    BG hits tanks HARD. I mean super hard. Even with a good healer, if the tank is not CCing then he had better be using cooldowns very well on trash packs. I was in there with guildies and one of my raid geared bears and we had a very good bombing run and I was still saving my own life with cooldowns. Don’t use that place to beat yourself up.

  2. khizzara Says:

    If the tank isn’t using cc in Grim Batol and is then insulting your healing, then he’s just a jerk. Grim Batol is tough, especially without cc! I used to hate it more than Stonecore, if that gives you some idea of how bad it can be. It was the last heroic I managed to successfully complete, and even then we only completed it by skipping the third boss, and I was DPSing instead of healing because my healing was so bad that they had me switch roles with a pally. 😦 My heart still flutters a bit when I see that loading screen, and I heal raids now, for Pete’s sake!

    Also, I know what you mean about dispelling… It seems like there’s an awful lot of stuff to potentially dispel in Cata, and it costs so much mana! And some stuff is absolutely essential to dispel while other stuff is basically a movement debuff, so whatever – they’ll live and I’m not going to waste my mana on it. It takes experience to know when to dispel and when to not bother. Basically, if someone’s heath is dropping dramatically and I see they have a dispellable debuff then I’ll try dispelling it to see if it helps. Then I try to remember that for next time. Grim Batol is such a pain because some of the stuff in there is harmless while some is really dangerous, and I often forget which is which and end up just healing through stuff I could have avoided. Oh, well. Also, I still haven’t had time to read most of the tooltips, so generally I don’t have a clue what I’m dispelling.

    However, I’m glad to hear that you’re healing more again and being successful at it! Told you it would get easier. 🙂

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks for the inspiring words, I’m not ready to give up yet!

      • khizzara Says:

        Coincidentally, I finally worked up the courage to heal a heroic on my pally, and I got Grim Batol! When I saw the loading screen I thought of you, lol. We made it through pretty easily though – I think everyone just generally has more gear and experience with the dungeons now, which makes them a bit easier. Also, my tank used lots of cc.

  3. wolfgangcat Says:

    Yes, I thought that remark was uncalled for and very rude – not to mention obviously stupid.

    After all, Mr. Tank wasn’t exactly a “pro” and I was actually tempted to reply back the same thing – “so…no CC, no marking targets and going afk for your “bro” means tanking is your off-spec?”

    I believe a tank kick would have been in order but with the new kicking rules I’m not sure how it works now with groups that queue together.

    Don’t worry about it – you were doing a great job with healing. Inspiring enough for me to actually think yes, I just maybe I could heal again 😀

  4. slice213 Says:

    Blarg if he was not marking or using CC, vote to kick go!

    GB can be hard on a healer. /patpat. Keep at it! Practice makes perfect.

    As Arioch mentioned just remember your cooldowns and all your spells.

    PoH if you know AoE dmgs is incoming and tank is not about to die. etc.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Maybe it was Sorak?

      • slice213 Says:

        LMAO possibly. But it will get easier. Disc scales very nicely with gear, 🙂

      • repgrind Says:

        ROFL!!

        The dispelling does suck. My pally would kill to have mass dispel. In general, if I’m unsure and don’t have time or mana to waste, I just dispel the tank and say to hell with the rest of ya (including myself .. PoTI ftw)

      • slice213 Says:

        exactly that is what I do, dispelling is expensive in Cata. So unless you are in danger of dying you may not get one unless you are the tank!

        Now Raid boss debuffs…that is a different story, but trash debuffs, meh

  5. Gromdred Says:

    I missed him saying that. I would have left with you. I’m sure I could have done something to avoid the death, but I never said I was good at being a priest :). You did just fine in my opinion!

  6. zarigar Says:

    When people start off with the phrase “no offense”, that usually means they are going to follow with something asshole-ish. Did he realize he was in a group of guildies? Tank or no, it’s kind of ballsy to make snide comments when you are the one pug.

  7. lagalot Says:

    If there’s no marking/cc in grim batol dudes are gona die. Can’t powerheal through retardation.

  8. LabRat Says:

    Yeesh! If it helps to hear it from a non-guildie, if there was no CC and no marks in Grim Batol the tank was an idiot. I’ve main tanked most of the Cata bosses, and I still absolutely mark up CC targets in GB, because if I don’t I’ll be chaining cooldowns and generally sucking my chair into my nethers.

    That place can’t be facerolled unless you’re in heroic gear.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks, yes I of course feel like it’s my fault, and under the stress of the situation sometimes fail to see that this could be the problem of others. My shaken confidence in healing leads me to self-blame far too often.

      I got GB again this weekend, but on the new mage this time (normal again) and the tank AGAIN stood in the blows from the mace weapon. Seriously, why do they do that?


Leave a Reply

