In Which I Try Healing, Again

The weekend was a pretty good one.  More time on the mage, some spent running about doing dailies or otherwise “maintaining” toons and for the mage and priest, fixing specs.  I had accidentally grabbed Torment of the Weak on Schubert before noticing that it only affects Arcane spells.  Whoops!  And on Elgar, given the advice, decided to drop Strength of Soul in favor of Mental Agility–just in case I wanted to go back and try healing…

And I did.

I like healing.  There’s something kinda fun about it, it’s definitely more challenging than DPS and adds a real sense of accomplishment to the game that I just don’t get from DPS (I’m sorry all you DPS only people out there–no offense!).  And on Sunday night, I looked at my mana regen and spirit.  I had picked up some trinkets along the way and was feeling okay about healing.  I can do this. 

I asked in guild chat if anyone was willing to come with on a Cataclysm normal.  So I queued for healing alone. 

I get into a group who inform us that they had started but the tank left a little ways in and the healer followed.  The new tank was doing great, pulling like a champ and watching my mana.  Oh, it was Grim Batol, and it seemed like they hadn’t hit anything with their drakes…nice.  We breezed through the first too bosses after an AFK boomkin, and after the first boss, the tank leaves without a word.  I don’t think it was my healing, I felt I managed well and kept everyone up, no OOM, things were good.  The smiting was working, fewer shields, more inner focus, using the Borrowed Time talent to cast off faster greater heals.  I dunno, it was going well I thought.  We wait a bit, get a new tank, and the rest is history.  A nice run.  My healing confidence was beginning to feel restored!  It was the best I’ve felt in WoW in a long time!  So look out everyone, Elgar is on his way back.  Now I’m not going to go nuts and do a heroic anytime soon, BUT, it felt good to at least know I can heal.  More gear will come in time and things will get better yet.  Disc isn’t all that broken, just plays more like how I used to play my DS holy spec back in Burning Crusade.

Though the group was awesome, there was one “fail” thing about it.  And that was the Elemental-Enhancement shaman.  For the first time ever, I witnessed a shaman that acted like an elemental shaman, but was spec’d as enhancement.  I didn’t actually notice at first.  They dropped totems, stood by the shadow priest, pew pew.  But then I saw it…Feral Spirit wolves come out, and I was like, huh?  I didn’t have time, but I had wished I had inspected both gear and spec.  But I did check recount and lightning bolt made up most of their damage, followed by lava burst, and melee was like 2%.  I was so confused.  Also, they did about 3000 DPS.  I probably did that much smiting. 

I later hopped on Borka, my enhancement shaman, and did some quests in Mt. Hyjal.  To compare, his damage was about 23% melee.  I also looked at his talent tree and there is just no semi-logical way to even make a spell casting talent tree out of enhancement.  It just doesn’t make any sense, it boggles my mind endlessly.

But regardless, I felt much better about healing, even if some of my DPS PUGs were a little less than optimal.

10 Responses to “In Which I Try Healing, Again”

  1. slice213 Says:

    woo~ grats! If I am on I will run with ya. 🙂

    Welcome back to the cult of Disc.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks! I never wanted to leave! I love disc so much! I just had to get into the groove of it again, also have about 700 more spirit and spirit proccing trinkets helped. I’m gaining confidence in healing again, but normals first, I need to practice on normals to ensure I really am ready. Or run heroics in Shadow and then scoop up all the healing heroic gear. He he. 😛

  2. repgrind Says:

    I knew you couldn’t stay away, any more than I could leave Kerick on the shelf.

    BTW, when a tank just drops after a boss like that, despite the run being smooth, it usually means the item they were hoping for didn’t drop.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, that’s what I figured, I can’t believe people do that, but I suppose if they get instant queue’s why bother? Is there tank gear on the second boss of Grim Batol?

  3. ReversionLFM Says:

    Welcome back!
    I did some raid healing myself this weekend. First time this expansion with a randomly assyembled gear set. Bosses died so I guess it could have been worse.

  4. koalabear21 Says:

    Yay!! I am so happy to hear things went well! Especially in Grim Batol. 😀

  5. khizzara Says:

    Yay! I’m glad you’re getting back into healing again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

