Mage Questing

So I’ve been working on the mage, he’s dual spec’d fire and frost but pretty much runs in frost 100% of the time.  I suppose for dungeons I should do fire on AOE, but meh. 

I took him to Mt. Hyjal first since I did Vashir with Rossini and wanted to see a different zone.  I can say that I thought Mt. Hyjal was a little bit interesting, but in the end just found it to be long and dragging out.  I was ready to be done with Hyjal.  On the flip side though, I was happy to have collected enough mining nodes to put me at 515 mining by the end of the zone.  It was happy times but also a little surprising that in just one of the starting zones I could get so many mining nodes.  My tailoring only went up 30 points or so. 

I generally liked the look of Hyjal, but really was only so-so impressed with the story-line.  By the end of it, I was tired of fighting cultists.  And having dinged level 83 before the end of the zone, I really felt like I was almost going too fast.  I did a few dungeons along the way though too, so that pushed me further in the XP. 

I was so happy to be done with the zone, I know I will have to revisit it in the future, but probably not anytime soon.

Last night I started in on Deepholm since I heard it was lousy with Elementium and I figure I’ll need some for some professions later.  I really don’t like Deepholm that much because of the layout.  The one center Inn and no real flight paths kinda bugs me.  I would like to log out, rested, right where my quests are, but I’m always traveling back and forth to the temple when not needed.  Also, because they sometimes send me in opposite directions I’m not sure of the “flow” of the quests.  I dunno, it just feels clunky to me and I am generally unimpressed.  At the same time I feel obligated to do Deepholm for now…at least until Therazane shoulder enchants are changed to BoA.

Another little complaint I have about Deepholm is the lack of Earthen Ring Quartermaster.  For as much ER rep that I get there you would think there would also be a quartermaster there, but no, that’s not the case.  So next, before finishing Deepholm, Schubert will head over to Vashir to at least unlock/quest up to the spot where the quartermaster is.  I guess the nice thing is I’ll get to see the Kraken attacking the boat again, which is one of my favorite cut-scenes.

Nothing else exciting.  Feeling good just working on the mage for now.  He’ll be 85 before I know it I’m sure.

8 Responses to “Mage Questing”

  1. ReversionLFM Says:

    I think you hit on something that annoys me about most of these zones. Too long. The probably with zones taht are so heavily ‘themed’ and also so big is that by the end you are totally sick of the theme. Some break it up better than others. Udum felt somewhat varied. But most of the others felt like they needed a break part way through. Maybe that is what some people really mean when the complain about them being ‘too linear’. I dont think they are that linear… just that the lines themselves are too long. Give me more shorter lines. I like a long quest chain… but the whole zone being one big 12x size chain gets to be a drag.

  2. Gromdred Says:

    I couldn’t agree more. That’s one of the reasons i levelled with arch… Now, if a zone gets to feeling too tedious, i can just switch to another easily for awhile.

  3. slice213 Says:

    Agreed 100%

    One long quest chain exactly describes what the cata zones are like. The only one that seems to break any of the monotony is the Uldum ones. The harrison jones quest line was amusing, but the cat people quests were too short imo.

  4. repgrind Says:

    I’m the opposite on the design of Deepholm. I love the big round circle of mining nodes. ❤ ❤ The only thing that would make it better is, like you said, an ER quartermaster. But if they did that … NO ONE would go to Vashj'ir .. EVAR. (ok maybe BM hunters looking for Ghostcrawler)

    Hyjal didn't seem too bad to me, but Vashj'ir … while I liked the underwater concept and thought it was graphically gorgeous, it just took forever. I don't even make it to the quartermaster .. I get my seahorse and get out.

    • Troutwort Says:

      See, I love Vashir. I think it’s fun, I like most the quests and I didn’t think Vashir was nearly as painful as Mt. Hyjal. To each their own though. 😛

  5. Ado Says:

    If find that I don’t mind the zones that I can zip through in an evening so I like Vash, Deepholm, and Hyjal. Twilight highlands was fun with the dwarfs and the whole wedding fun but the dragon quests after that just seem to drag on. For me the greatest redeaming factor to Uldum is whiptail farming and Volatile Air transmute.


Leave a Reply

