When it Becomes Work…

So yesterday, I really wasn’t feeling WoW.  I was feeling burnout, but I couldn’t pinpoint it.  I just didn’t feel inspired by any of my characters.  When I got home from work, I played some Minecraft before logging in.  It was a nice distraction–I built a lighthouse and a fairly long bridge which was kinda annoying, but in the end is much better than swimming!  Oh, and I died for the first time ever, so that was an adventure.

But afer a bit of that and having accomplished my two goals, I decided to log into WoW.  I looked at the start in screen.  Nearly everyone was in Stormwind…I hate Stormwind.  Let me repharse that, I hate that I have to be in Stormwind.  Well everyone was there…except Schubert and Troutwort.  Schubert is in Icecrown, at the Tournament, his hearth is set there (I love portals), and so I did a few dailies there for more seal for mini-pets, and while he’s doing those, I look at the guild XP.  Maxed for the day, thank god.  After those few quests, I see Troutwort is in Sholazar due to his Oracle Egg, so I hop over, Aged Yolk, and get another one quick. 

Then I realize what it was…

Last week, we didn’t meet guild XP every day like we usually do.  I would log in at 7 or 8 at night and see we only had 30%.  Ugh.  I would do dailies and round-up guildies to do dungeons and do all my cooking and fishing dailies to bump up as much guild XP as possible only to log out still only at 70% or stay up until after midnight grinding out quests to reach 100% then joyfully log out.

So what I realize now, is that the quest for max daily guild XP became a chore for me and was sucking all the fun out of the game, because it had become work, and not fun.  Now maybe some people like the “structure” or “routine” of logging in, doing their dailies, posting to the AH, getting a heroic done, gathering mats for the weekend raid.  Blah.  I can’t do it.  When it comes to WoW, I’m much more a free spirit.  I log-in and pick a character based on whatever I feel like doing.  Is there a profession I want to work on?  How about leveling?  Do I want to do dungeons?  Am I out to make gold?  Or am I just trying to get something I’ve never seen before?  There are so many options and sometimes just looking at the screen makes me decide what I feel like. 

But that freedom is part of what makes the game fun for me.  So tonight when I log in WoW, I’ll pick a character and do what I want, and I’ll try my damnedest to not look at the Guild daily XP so that I don’t stress myself out and force myself into something I’m not going to enjoy.  My guess is no one else is worrying about it anyways.  😛 

Sorry for the “I am bored” yesterday, but at least I was able to figure out what was going on.

8 Responses to “When it Becomes Work…”

  1. koalabear21 Says:

    Yay for you! 🙂

    I stopped looking at the guild XP a long time ago. It just adds more stress than needed.

  2. Slice213 Says:

    Also once you hit guild lvl 23 there is no more daily cap! So there will not be something there tempting you to grind out that guild xp!

  3. gromdred Says:

    yeah, I don’t know what’s up with that… the morning random group seems to have just stopped. Kind of a bummer for me. It was so much fun.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Well since we lost some peoples mains/alts we’ve really had a reduction in daytime play (I assume) since those people were very active during the day. I’m excited to see the guild recruitment addition they are adding in 4.1. I am gonna jump on that to make sure Crits has a page to encourage more possible active recruits.

      • ReversionLFM Says:

        That will be cool. You will also have to throw down some of the ‘guild challenges’. Too bad we will be maxed out by then.

        Don’t make WOW into work! It doesn’t work long term. That is why I gave up playing EVE… two or three times.

  4. khizzara Says:

    We’ve been slacking on the guild XP ourselves lately. Most of our active players have already leveled up and have all their exalted rep, so people aren’t as motivated to do dailies or chain run heroic dungeons. So our guild leveling has slowed to a crawl… As an officer I sometimes feel like I should be grinding out the daily XP by myself, but I know that if I do it I will get burned out and not want to play at all. But then I feel guilty for working on things that aren’t giving the guild XP… Stupid Blizzard and their dumb guild XP grind! *shakes fist*

    Thankfully we just gained a bunch of new players who are probably going to want to grind up their own personal guild rep, so it should be easier to make gains again. I’m also looking forward to the guild challenges. Extra guild XP and gold for things we do anyway? Yes, please!

    • Troutwort Says:

      The guild challenges will be awesome! And I think it has been noted that the usual top earners for guild XP are those leveling from 80-85 or heroic groups. We have been doing much better this week and I didn’t even have to think about it!


Leave a Reply

