Broken Pt. 2

First off, thanks to everyone for the words of encouragement on healing from my previous post. 

I think I figured out a big chunk of why this is shaking me up so much.  I’ve always thought I was okay at DPS and tanking, I could get the job done, I wouldn’t top meters in a 10 man, but would usually do pretty well or in a 5-man I could hit pretty good DPS.  Tanking usually went well, making sure there weren’t lose mobs, moving appropriately, etc.  The reason Cataclysm healing has upset me so much is that if there was one thing I always felt good at in the game it was healing.

If I had to think of all the best moments in the game, the moments where I felt like my playing really made the difference, or just those awesome clutch moments where I pulled through, they all happened on my priest, while healing.  Those were the moments I loved, the reason I loved healing, I liked all those times where things went slightly bad but I pulled through.  But now I feel scared and completely incapable of making it through a normal dungeon in Cataclysm.  The one character I really felt solid on now feels completely awful and insecure.  All confidence in my healing abilities has been shaken.

I think this is why I’m taking this first Cataclysm dungeon so hard.  The one thing I felt good at in the game is now the thing I feel worst at.  I know that eventually I’ll give it another try again.  But for now, Elgar leaves me feeling a bit…lost.

Again, thanks for all the kind words of encouragement.  I’ll get back on the bike and try to learn to ride again, but for me, this was a pretty hard fall, so I’m going to need some time to lick my wounds.

9 Responses to “Broken Pt. 2”

  1. slice213 Says:

    🙂

    trout you can do it!

    But with Cata, I think every healer had to take step back and get off our Wrath high horse mentality. I admit i was shocked with cata myself and I was questioning my healing as well. It happens to us all.

    Also as Arioch said, unfort Cata uses the throw them into the fire teaching method for healing ><

  2. wolfgangcat Says:

    WTB practice dungeon 🙂

    Oh well…we could always two-man a Wrath dungeon and take turns healing each other.

    I’ve always wanted to tank in a Lovely Black Dress…

  3. Rades Says:

    You’ll get it all back! Try the early ones, or run with a guild tank who you know is properly geared/prepared, or both! Even knowing when to expect damage spikes in each dungeon will help immensely so you’re ready for them and not caught flailing. I’m sure you’ll be fine. 😀

  4. ReversionLFM Says:

    Please please don’t heal anything unless I am tanking. Seriously. Whisper me anytime and I will be up for it. You need a few runs with a tank that knows how to be good to a healer and use CC. Please please please don’t heal a pug tank. Give us a shout and lets will put together a hand picked party.

  5. ReversionLFM Says:

    You can be that clutch healer again. It is like riding a bike… but you are getting on a tricked out performance bike. Don’t do it and then go play in traffic with a drunk biker gang. No offense to any of our guild tanks… but just please let me tank a couple for you.

  6. lagalot Says:

    I second (third? fourth?) the motion to go with a pro guild tank. Maybe a known pwn mage and huntard to boot. Non fireswimming types. Healing heroics is like 90% making up for retarded stuff people stand in.

  7. Cäel Says:

    I remember when that first boss in hoo felt literally unhealable. I was getting frustrated in the beginning with the mana costs per heals that I was about to drop my heals spec too. Also, with everything so new, there wasn’t a whole lot of help with info out there for a bit, you know, the geniuses that do all the math formulas that make no sense to me? lol.

    Anyways, help from guildies (Elia for one was encouraging me to trust my hots) and a lot of research that is now available has made healing on my priest almost more fun then blowing things up on Whodowhat. Renew now accounts for about 25-30% (which is a # I hear to shoot for) of my heals (depending on the fight obviously). I don’t know how that is supposed to be for disc, but if a renew can’t heal someone up after them standing in the blue flame on that first boss in hoo, then they’re standing in it too long anyways and must be sacrificed for the good of your mana to last the rest of the fight healing normal mechanics. Unfortunately, with my 2 hours of xp as disc, I’ve got nothing for ya, lol. Stick with it, I actually found ccs much more of a requirement in reg randoms then a heroic with a group in i346.


Leave a Reply

