Money Grows on Trees

They call it Goldthorn because it’s made of gold!

Okay, it’s not really a secret…you can make lots of money selling herbs.  Stacks of Twilight Jasmine go for about 250 gold on our server–and let’s be honest, it doesn’t take that long to get a stack.  I relayed this information to the kid I mentor who has a level 66 mage, Monona, who does tailoring and herbalism.  And up until this past weekend was at about 95 herbalism and 150 tailoring.  Both pretty tragic scenes because he was more focuses on leveling at he time and not professions…that and I think she might have been a recruit-a-friend power level for part of her life. 

Anyways, the kid is majorly motivated by money, so I told him a good way to make money would be to level his herbalism and sell the herbs he finds.  So he’s going along, sells some stacks of mageroyal for 10 gold and eventually gets to goldthorn.  Goldthorn has always been valuable as far back as I can remember.  It’s limited availability helps keep ti valuable.  So he gets a stack.  Goes to the AH and sees they are only 4 listings of 2 herb stacks.  Three of them are selling for 3 gold each and one for 9.5 gold each.  He has a stack of 20.  I inform him this would be a good idea to buy up the 3 gold each stacks and post his goldthorn for say 8 gold to see if it will sell.  He does so, buys up, leaving just the 9.5 gold each stack of 2 herbs and posts his for 7 gold each.  It sells before we leave Stormwind.  140 gold coming his way.  He is jazzed about this!  It is quite possibly more gold than Monona has ever had without borrowing from the Bank of Elgar (FDIC).  He immediately is excited about herbalism seeing its potential and for the next 3 hours diligently farms up herbs of all types and posting them all in the auction house.  He seemed to be pretty good at figuring out a decent price to post things at…well, except for when he tried to post his red cluster rockets for 500 gold each.  He thinks someone might accidentally buy them…  /sigh.

He got Monona’s herbalism up over 300 and is busy picking outland herbs wich should also fetch a hefty price.  The kid is totally motivated by money, so look out Winterhoof, you have a crazed herbalist on the loose–but don’t worry, he doesn’t have epic flying yet.

I hate Druids.

Not all druids, just the druids that do herbalism…and also might be tauren.  With your picking things while in flight form and zipping off while I mount up my drake again.  Grr.  Sometimes priests need herbs too you know!!  But seriously, it’s getting a little old when you ninja me, laugh while I smite the aggro’d croc and fly off.

I loathe your herbalistic ways.  And they said Blizz favors warlocks.  Ha!  Tell me druids, can you mine in bird form too?  Don’t tell me actually, or soon I will hate you as much as I hate paladins crit healing for 11 million with a spell that cost 30 mana.

11 Responses to “Money Grows on Trees”

  1. repgrind Says:

    I’m sure you’ve seen Karius complain in gchat on multiple occasions about how much he hates those dang herb-stealing druids.

    And where the heck was Monona when Kerick was leveling alchemy and there were no herbs on the AH???? /sigh

    • Troutwort Says:

      He he, he’ll gladly farm them up for you now, but trust me this kid wouldn’t sell herbs cheap to his grandma, so you’ll have to pay for the time. Ha! I swear I try to teach him good values, but the mighty dollar (er…gold) rules in his head!

  2. slice213 Says:

    lol i love herbing as a cow druid….NINJA GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    • Troutwort Says:

      So tell me on a PvP server do people beat each other up for things like herbs and mining nodes?

      • repgrind Says:

        Arelin is a miner. I’ve leveled from 80 to 10% from 85 and have only had one node stolen from me. And that was a warlock from the same faction. I was busy fighting the mob at the time, right on top of the ore, but of course … if I try to get it, the mob hits me and interrupts me, so bleh. I prefer mining on the priest, where I can just fear any mobs that are on the ore and grab it first before having to fight.

  3. slice213 Says:

    However it does seem weird as to why herbs are so expensive…when it requires NO work to get them…..

    • Troutwort Says:

      I know! I almost never buy herbs because I know that in about 5-10 minutes (travel time to zone is worst) I can have all the herbs I need and then some!

  4. Analogue Says:

    Druids can’t mine in flight form. But we can often pick up quest items. Like apples. Under trees. That Karius is camping.

  5. Gromdred Says:

    I thought druids could mine in flight form… Was that something that was changed? Or is my memory on the fritz again?

  6. koalabear21 Says:

    Druids can skin in flight form ^_^

    We can also skin and herb in travel form too! 😀


Leave a Reply

