Ode to Pinchy (reprise)

What would Valentine’s Day be without a little poetry?  We find Elgar the priest in a bit of mourning after hearing that Schubert a tiny gnome mage had an encounter with a certain magical crawdad.

Today is a special day, for those in love,
Yet sad am I, for I am still dreaming of,
A magical crawdad whom I’ve never met,
Try as I might, he hasn’t shown yet!
My love for him is so strong,
Even if others think it a bit wrong.
And so on this 14th day of February,
My valentine, I hope Mr. Pinchy to be!

But what is this horrid rumor I’ve just heard?
The news so dizzying, my vision has blurred!
Mr. Pinchy you’ve chosen someone else to pursue,
How could you Pinchy?  I love you!
He is so short and cannot cook,
And though bad at fishing, you still took his hook!
Mr. Pinchy, I cannot comprehend,
How this could happen, is this really the end?

 Did his water elemental seal the deal?
Because it would provide that Skettis feel?
Or was it his cute and bubbly laugh,
And the way he handles his mighty staff?
A gnome, Mr. Pinchy, this cannot be,
How could you choose him, over choosing me?
Was it really love at first sight?
Or were you just weary so late at night?

 So alas Mr. Pinchy, you’ve made your choice,
I guess you prefer a squeaky voice!
And so Mr. Pinchy, I will just say,
I hope you have a happy Valentine’s Day!

9 Responses to “Ode to Pinchy (reprise)”

  1. gromdred Says:

    Wonderful! Even better than the last one! You’ve outdone yourself 🙂

  2. Analogue Says:

    You could offer to make him a lobster dinner but that might not be the best plan…

  3. slice213 Says:

    Bravo sir well done!

  4. repgrind Says:

    I told you he was scared of the moustache.

  5. wolfgangcat Says:

    Lovely poem…Mr. Pinchy will read it, realize he made a horrible mistake and be back…someday…

  6. Poor Elgar « Reputation Grind Says:

    […] sure most of my readers are familiar with Elgar’s eternally cursed mission to catch the elusive […]


Leave a Reply

