A Little Bit of Everything

Not feeling the pressure to level up and gear up Rossini anymore bought me a lot more time to do a few other things…and so this weekend became a little more “normal” for my playstyle. 

I did some more archaeology on Elgar, I finished up the Orc artifact achievement and will work on the Seven Scepters one as I just have two left and am currently working on the Nerubian one, so that shouldn’t be too bad.  I also screwed around with a little bit of Outland reputations as there were a few that Elgar got close on but never reached exalted.  I figured I would do a heroic Mana Tombs run for the Consortium Rep.  Well, after the first couple pulls I could see this was going to take a LONG time.  PW:Shield would barely hold up to level 70 heroic hits.  No wonder everyone is complaining about disc.  Those bubbles really do need a buff.  I also noticed that priest DoTs cost nearly or above 3000 mana for the instant cast!  I’m pretty sure that corruption on the warlock does not cost that much, so I’m curious as to why they are so expensive!  In fact, everything on the priest seemed really expensive.  I suppose because we’re supposed to have much more spirit…but really, wow.  I did note on Schubert that frostbolt cost just 350+ mana.  Now granted he’s level 81, but still.

Speaking of which, seeing that I was going to start needing volatile elemental parts for crafting, I decided to work a little bit on Schubert because he does mining and I thought that perhaps I could get lucky finding some things.  Maybe I should have taken the paladin instead since he’s mining and engineering…I assume there are still gas clouds around.  I took Schubert out to Mt. Hyjal and he ended up with quite a bit of obsidian.  It’s been awhile since I’ve been in a competitive collecting environment and it’s amazing to me that people will run up right next to you while you’re in combat, have one mob sheeped and just take the ore and run off.  It’s times like these I wish I could engage my own alliance…though then, he probably would have just killed me first to get the ore.  I take it back. 

Anyways, other than that stuff, I mostly just did more preparing to be ready to do whatever I like.  Rossini did a few more dailies to build up rep so that he can slowly keep working towards being raid ready.  Well heck, even heroic ready! 

I’m now toying with the idea of how I want to level and spec some of my other toons.  I’d like to try healing on my other toons as well.  The druid had a healing spec long ago but I just couldn’t get into it, though I will give that another try.  I’ve never tried healing on the paladin and though it means an extra set of gear I think I will trade his retribution spec for a holy spec.  I think I will try resto for the shaman too.  He’s currently enhancement and again it will mean an extra set of gear if I decide to keep an enhancement spec for him instead of elemental, but we’ll see…usually quests give you either casting gear or DPS gear for your armor class, seldom are you choosing between two pieces of the same armor class for one quest.

We’ll see, there’s more to come, lots more!  So much to do, so little time!

10 Responses to “A Little Bit of Everything”

  1. repgrind Says:

    Holy paladin is fun. Easy, too … just stack mastery. *snerk*

  2. Analogue Says:

    I can give you any tips you need on druid healing – and like I told Rep last night, until you’ve druid healed, you don’t know what you’re missing. I will say to be an effective druid healer you need some sort of raid frames addon to show your HOTs; I don’t think the built in frames are quite good enough. If you want to set up Vuhdo let me know; if you like Grid, heaven help you.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Sibelius was a healer at one point, ask Rep about how well I did healing! But I’ll probably give it another try for 10g.

      Also, I’ve never used a healing raid frame. The closest I ever got was XPerl. I didn’t heal with Grid or Healbot and have been known to mock those who claimed they couldn’t heal because Healbot wasn’t on. 😉

      • Analogue Says:

        Can’t heal, yes, I mock that too. However it’s a lot easier to get the most out of your hots when you can see exactly how many seconds each has left on every target with one glance. Do I need to refresh the tank’s LB stack or can I hit the mage with a Nourish first?

        I can heal without Vuhdo, but I won’t have nearly the information I need. It’s like flying a plane; you should know how to land if your instruments go out, but that doesn’t mean you run blind all the time.

      • repgrind Says:

        hahahahahahahah!!! I think Kaly still has a /rw Sib healz me nao! macro

        Actually, other than having yourself targeted instead of the tank, you did fine. You kept yourself hotted very nicely. 😉

    • lagalot Says:

      The cata bliz frames have hot counters/timers.

  3. gromdred Says:

    Ancient pally mining secret. When attacked by a mob at an ore vein, stun mob, mine ore, kill mob. Then watch said ore ninja cry and bitch because they couldn’t make you do all the work for them 🙂

    • repgrind Says:

      Yup! Also, sheep/fear/frost nova/hungering cold …. basically any form of CC that renders the mob unable to hit you for the handful of seconds you need to harvest the node.

      • Troutwort Says:

        Yeah I had two mobs on me, so I had one polymorphed and the squirtle tried to pick up aggro on the other, but all of that just didn’t give me enough time before he hit the node first. I was one angry gnome!!

      • lagalot Says:

        Oh that’s much nicer than what I did. For the nelfs, shadowmeld, the monsters promptly attack the other person.


Leave a Reply

