Preparing for Cataclysm

Um…wait, wut?  Troutwort, shouldn’t you already be prepared for Cataclysm since it came out already? 

Let me explain.

Though I worked on archaeology a bit right off the bat with my priest, I tried hard to level up my warlock to raid with my guild mates.  But I’m not a raider and so this didn’t work out for me so well, the “power leveling” (I use that loosely because most wouldn’t consider it that) burnt me out of warlock play and the game for a bit since it wasn’t what I was enjoying.  In recent posts, I’ve decided I need to take back my altoholic lifestyle as most of my alts had gone over 20 days since last login.  This has never happened before!

So the push for the warlock meant that the others were pushed aside.  Last night, I finally got around to logging into nearly all my alts.  So I took the time to run around and train professions so that I could start leveling them.  I also realized I hadn’t purchased Azeroth flying on all my characters yet so that was a trip to Stormwind too.  Are there other places you can train it?  Hmm.  I have to admit that it felt good to get on the other characters even if it was just for a little bit.  I got excited because I haven’t spent any time on any gathering professions in Cataclysm and so am looking forward to trying that.  I got everyone situated and now am ready to do whatever I want.  And last night, whatever I wanted was archaeology.

I know people find it horribly boring and not that rewarding when you dig all day and only get a 5 silver artifact, but there are others that sell for a little more and with any luck you will get some minipets or mounts.  I have gotten the mini skeletal raptor, and a bunch of weird trinkety things, but that’s it–no mounts.  Though I am getting closer on some of the other achievements.  I’ll spend some time digging in Outlands and Northrend this weekend to finish some of those up.  The character I’ve been doing archaeology with is Elgar the priest.  He was at 507 going into last night and managed to hit 525 one piece after dinging 84.  Yes.  Elgar reached level 84 simply by maxing out his archaeology (plus a few irregularly completed cooking/fishing dailies). 

It felt REALLY good.  And I logged out shortly after feeling accomplished for the evening.  I know it isn’t something everyone will understand, but I finally for the first time since Cataclysm felt prepared for Cataclysm.  All my characters are ready now should I decide to choose them.  Completing archaeology with Elgar was also really an awesome feeling.  He’s ready to start adventuring soon!  Though I do feel that due to his obsession with playing in the dirt, he might hold out just a little bit longer after some more archaeology.  He he.

I’m looking forward to more shenanigans this weekend.  I feel a little bit sad that I was unable to hold up my end of the deal to get the warlock raid ready by mid January, but I just couldn’t do it.  That’s not who I am.  He’ll get there eventually, just takes me a little while longer.  And I know that I don’t get the same satisfaction from downing raid bosses as other people do.  I get as much or more from things like completing profession achievements, winning the fishing tournament, grinding old reputations, and/or knowing how to cook bizarre recipes.  It’s just a different game I play, I am not saying I don’t like raiding, it can be very fun, but it is not my main motivation.  Exploration and experiencing as much of the game as possible drives me more than a few shiny purples.  😛

12 Responses to “Preparing for Cataclysm”

  1. repgrind Says:

    I went to Northrend last night to work on some of those .. and ended up questing in Sholazar instead. I went for the Trout method of just dinking around and doing whatever I felt like … at least until Log asked for victims to accompany him on a heroic.

  2. gromitdaddy Says:

    Congrats! I actually can’t wait to get my hunter/skinner to sholazar :). For me, actually getting a raid boss down the first time is a totally satisfying experience and will refresh me for weeks. And doing it with the current team is simply more fun than i’ve had in the game for a long time. And I thank them for including me. But true, it’s not the same for everyone. I will confess that your love of archeology is infectious. I just got the raptor mount today, and I will not stop until I have the sword! Or at least till the team tells me which alt they want me to bring up to 85 🙂

    • Troutwort Says:

      Ack! I know lots of others got their mounts and aren’t 525 yet, so it’s a little disappointing that I haven’t seen that raptor yet. 😛 I know though that it will probably happen eventually.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Just level something ranged. It doesn’t really matter what.

  4. gromitdaddy Says:

    Gromaere will be at 83 this evening.


Leave a Reply

