20 Days

Last night when I logged in to WoW I got a message from Altoholic add-on saying that I had mail that was about to expire on a toon and did I want to view it now?  Fine, whatever.  This happens all the time and I figured it was probably some note from Great Grandfather Winter or something.  Usually it’s just a note that is empty but I haven’t deleted.  So this was nothing unusual, so I usually click ignore.  But last night, I clicked view now.  The screen opened and there it was, the last active list.  Schubert, Sibelius, Borka, Kalinnikov, Floy, Haydn:

20 days.

Aside from Floy the DK, who I really only keep around in the event that I want to level blacksmithing some day since she’s at 400-something, all the other toons have really never gone more than 10 days without seeing a little play time, be it a few dailies, a random dungeon, or grinding out a few new quests or reputation.

20 days.

I’m beginning to maybe see why I posted the way I did yesterday.  There are Altoholics and there are people with alts.  I am an altoholic.  There, I said it.  I NEED to play my alts, just as perhaps the alcoholic feels they need to drink.  Having spent so much time on the warlock recently, I have not been enjoying my time playing, the obligation to focus on Rossini has even made logging in dreadful.  I actually wanted to log in on a dwarf lock I created just two weeks ago just for the sake of doing something different.  That and seeing the end of Dun Morough.

This next part is probably going to sour the guild members who want me to gear up and raid, but I need a break from the warlock.  I need time to see other things and play more of my other toons before I really get into gearing him.  I just don’t have it in me.  I’m not enjoying the game when it feels like “work”.  And I think that I may have pinpointed my reason of dissatisfaction for reaching 85.  Because I did it because I “had” to rather than doing it because I “wanted” to.   

I realize this is my own play style and there are those out there who will NOT understand my altoholic ways.  But it’s no different from how one doesn’t understand an alcoholic.  But I think I finally discovered why I haven’t been enjoying myself.  The pressure to run Cataclysm dungeons and heroics instead of say farming for the Baron’s Mount or doing the questline for the firefly pet, just isn’t making me happy.  So I’m just gonna take a break from the warlock and go do a few other non-sense things for a little while. 

20 days.  😦

12 Responses to “20 Days”

  1. Analogue Says:

    So who’s the first to get some love? Do you have a GNOME priest yet? I know Elgar’s a priest but…. where’s your gnome priest?

    • Troutwort Says:

      The gnome priest was on another server, made awhile back just to try it out and the new starting area. If I had another spot, I might reroll a gnome priest. But alas, I am stuck at 10.

      First to get some love…everyone. Troutwort was still in the Icecrown Tournament as though he was doing dailies. I think there are a few others still stuck in Northrend, so I need to get them back to mainland, train them on professions so they can keep working…etc. There’s so much that I didn’t do. I haven’t even looked at the trainers, flight paths to gather, fishing and cooking dailies. Inscription, new pets (combat and not), reputations, dual specs…

      So much to do, I actually just got pretty exciting thinking about it. 🙂

  2. repgrind Says:

    You know what … I know how you feel. Heck, why do you think I have three (OMG I have THREE ALREADY) toons to 85? And an 83, and an 82. LOL. I can’t play on just one. I also have a lot more time to spend ingame than you do so mine level faster. But really … we’re not different. I understand completely. Honestly, I’m surprised it took you this long. 😉

    • Troutwort Says:

      Right?!? I think with the holidays and other activities lately, I just haven’t noticed it as much. But it should have been more obvious to me before. I mean, it took me 3 months to get a level 80 after LK because I was doing everything else. And I played a lot more then.

  3. lagalot Says:

    The point is to relax for a bit. Soon as it feels like you’re obligated instead of relaxing with other people doing the same thing, it’s not r&r anymore.

  4. Ado Says:

    I am certainly one of those that does not understand. I have A main. I only really have 2 alts that get any play time, maybe 3 with an up and coming mage, but those alts primary role is to suport my main with crafting and mats gathering. I’d rather spend and hour on the target dummy on my hunter than level an alt just for leveling.

    • repgrind Says:

      I think I spent 5 minutes on the training dummy when I switched my spec to fire. Then I went and dug in the dirt for an hour. :p

    • Troutwort Says:

      I don’t level them “just for leveling” I level them to understand the class better. The more information I have and better understanding of how other classes work, the better I can understand the challenges and abilities of other players when I group with them later.

      • Analogue Says:

        What you said – I understand how tanks work so much better having played one. Or mages, hunters, etc. I ought to bite the bullet and do rogue one of these days but I don’t want too.

      • gromitdaddy Says:

        Perfectly understandable. That’s partly what i’m trying to do. Take your time and do what you want to do. But remember, the rest of us can’t wait to run things with you 🙂

      • Troutwort Says:

        Ha ha ha, I would never ask anyone to wait. I’ve always just pugged up groups to meet the needs. I will get there eventually, but to enjoy myself, I need to do it at my own pace. Besides, it’s like I said before, we’ll be running these heroics for the next two years. I don’t need to be bored with them 3 months in. 😉

  5. Reversionlfm Says:

    Take your time and do what you love. We did not raelly give up any alts ourselves. I have three 85s and an 83. One raid geared. One heroic gears and one almost heroic geared. Getting professions geared has been keeping my off my ‘main’ most of the time.


Leave a Reply

