Level Blahty-five

I’ve been trying to be more socially active lately unfortunately that cuts into my WoW playtime, that and the NFL playoffs, but this weekend I did manage to get to level 85 on the warlock!  It was exciting and it was…not?

I’ll be honest, the cut down in leveling for Cataclysm really leaves me feeling…well weird?  I don’t even know the feeling, maybe disappointed?  Maybe unsatisfied?  I really felt that when I hit 85, I didn’t accomplish anything.  It felt awesome getting to 70, getting to 80!  But getting to 85 was….well….nothing.  I really wasn’t that excited, it seemed that my guild mates were more excited for me than I was. 

I’m trying to pinpoint what it is that is leaving me feeling empty about 85.  I’m just not sure.  I think it stems from that I feel like I didn’t really even try, there wasn’t really a challenge or effort to get to 85.  I did all of Vashir, all of Deepholm, and made it to just before the wedding in Twilight Highlands.  I know now the next step is to start doing rep grinds and dungeons for gear and all that, but I feel as though my leveling is still incomplete. 

I wonder if it wasn’t professions too.  My warlock is enchanting and tailoring.  By max level, I had enchanting barely 475 and tailoring isn’t much better.  So there’s a sense that I am still incomplete with my professions as well!  I certainly didn’t expect to be max level, but I did hope to be further along by level 85. 

I’m just not feeling this level 85 business yet.  I know that by nature, I love leveling up my characters, seeing their new abilities, leveling their professions, etc.  They all have a sense of development.  Even who they decide to ally with as their first reputations.  There’s a sense of character development for me – and this time, I’m just not feeling it.

Perhaps it is the linearity of the quests.  The inability to skip some that you just don’t feel like doing without consequence.  I am guessing that in most cases now, if I attempt to skip some I will flat-out not be able to proceed.  I might give that a test.  While I appreciate the flow, perhaps this inflexibility is what makes it feel “bleh” to me.  It might be that it’s the fastest after an expansion that I’ve ever leveled up, so that may factor in too. 

Who knows!  I might spend some time this week playing one of the lower level alts or just doing some more archaeology.  Ross will keep working towards quests in highlands.  He needs to get down to Uldum too to discover the instances there.  Maybe seeing some new instances will help me get more in the mood for this level 85 business.  But right now, I’m just not even excited about it.

14 Responses to “Level Blahty-five”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Hey, let us run some normal modes with you! Reversion and Karius and I have loads of alts, some of which still need normal-instance gear. Some of them are a lot of fun! And you do need to get heroic geared because new Deadmines is tons of fun and I’ve only been in once so far. I bet you’ll like it!

    But don’t rush and burn out!

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, I’m working at it slowly. Some instances might help, though I’m just not even feeling excited about those. Am I so NOT gear driven that even dungeons aren’t enticing? Hmm.

      • Analogue Says:

        How about the fun of raiding? We’re really looking forward to having you again! I think we’re going to actually down Halfus this week as long as we get lucky with drakes – and we got the Tol Barad raid boss yesterday in a guild group and got the achievement.

      • Troutwort Says:

        Woot! That is awesome! I’m convincing myself of the fun of raiding. 😛 The preparation is overwhelming!! To get all things enchanted, gemmed, etc. Oy! Flasks! Oy! When I had 5 or 6 level 80s with just about every profession getting what I needed for a raid was easy, now I just see it as money money money. It’s a big investment that I’m not used to facing. Should have leveled a gatherer first. He he.

      • Analogue Says:

        Let us help you with the enchants and gems and stuff. I can give you any green-level gem cut you want, basically. I have tons of them as long as you’re not TOO picky (ie, all the red or orange you want, maybe not blues). And my mage has her enchanting to 520 and can do a lot of stuff – again not the bestest enchants but not bad! Same for spellthread for pants, and my tailoring is at 525 so I can make some nice gear. Seriously it doesn’t have to be TOO bad. Reversion and I have most professions mostly leveled between us. We have not one but two max level alchemists, one potions spec and one elixir mastery, so don’t BUY flasks, buy mats and have my priest make ’em. I can probably proc almost double the number of flasks…

  2. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, we’d love to run some dungeons with you. On regular, they really don’t take all that long.

  3. Analogue Says:

    I tried leaving a comment mentioning all the professions we have high enough to provide enhancements and urging you to take advantage, but it bugged out. TLDR: Analogue has all the green-level gems you can eat, Invariant can enchant with the cheaper enchants and spellthread, as well as maybe make you some robes and things, and we have multiple alchemists to proc flasks and potions for you so buy mats not flasks.

    • Troutwort Says:

      It was flagged as spam! I am not sure why. He he. I know, but you have to understand, you’re talking to the guy who has bought almost NOTHING EVER. Thanks for offering to make everything. I will check the lists tonight and see, even if you can make them it doesn’t mean the mats will be easy to get.

    • repgrind Says:

      Seriously, Ana and I are almost too much alike.
      Kar can make flasks.
      Sanbec can do a fair amount of enchants.
      Kaly can do green gems.
      I think those are the main things I usually need. Someday Kerick will be able to make belt buckles, but it takes sooooo much ore to level BS.
      If I ever really start raiding on Rags, he might pick up tailoring. Maybe. Mining makes no sense for him, other than the fact that it provides mats for his engineering. Guess it doesn’t for Kerick either, really, but … I don’t want to have to rely on Kaly to provide enough ore for 3 professions.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Schubert has mining, because it helped out with the engineer and blacksmith. 🙂

      And also, I know you two are alike, why do you think I like you?

  4. gromdred Says:

    Grom can do belt buckles if you need them. And grats on 85!!! It did feel wierd… kind of like half done compared to 70 or 80, but it is what it is. Congrats!

    • Troutwort Says:

      Grom, you probably said it best, it is what it is, and I need to adapt and change to it. Though I do feel I still need to find my in-game desires again. Because at the moment, I really feel like I don’t have them.

  5. gromdred Says:

    Get in there and run with the group above. They’re generally so much fun it’s infectious. I think once you realize the power you’ll have geared up at 85, the game will be much more fun again.


Leave a Reply

«

