Therazane > Sons of Hodir

To continue my “push” to 85, (I am honestly going as fast as I can, I’m just not a power-leveler!) I worked on the Warlock some on Monday night.  I hadn’t logged into WoW in almost a week due to holiday stuff and again over New Years I’ll be out for a bit.  I know that the fastest way to level would be to hit up each new zone that I could start questing in as soon as it becomes available, but I am still in Deepholm due to my completionist style with questing. 

At first I thought, “Wow!  This is crazy, I’m level 84 and I’m only in my second zone?”  But then I started to think of Northrend.  I’m pretty sure that some of my toons made it to 80 by only questing in Borean Tundra, Grizzly Hills, and Sholazar Basin…with a few quests here and there in Dragonblight and Icecrown.  So there I was leveling 10 levels in just 3 of 7 zones.  So we’ll say 50% of the zones.  I think there are 5 new zones in Cataclysm, so that if I hit 85 in 3 zones, again that’s roughly 50% of the zones.  It’s a little weird to me that you don’t have to do everything, and yet at the same time, I think it’s a good thing because if there’s something you don’t like, you can just bypass for a zone you do like. 

I did like that the quests in Deepholm that lead you to Therazane Rep (which have the shoulder enchants) didn’t take nearly as long to do to get friendly or even honored with them.  Sons of Hodir, the equivalent in Northrend, had that horrible traveling across all of Storm Peaks as well as a long questline before that.  This time the Therazane just fit right into the zone and in a matter of a handful of quests I was honored with them.  I should go see their quartermaster.

I also tried a few dungeons last night, Blackrock Caverns and Stonecore.  Both were quite fun and neither one dropped anything for a caster.  Oh well.  I did manage to get some quest reward upgrades and now the T10 is being steadily replaced.  I was surprised that people seemed excited when they asked if I had Fear glyphed and I said yes.  Are there honestly warlocks out there that don’t use the glyph of fear?  It’s almost needed and really gives one of the best CC’s since it isn’t limited to a type of mob like say polymorph or sap.  I have noticed that now that I am fearing, it actually takes me a little more thinking with my pet since I can’t just leave it on defensive to attack at will since it almost always wants to break fear, I don’t know if that’s intentional.  I think that pets will not attack sheeped or sapped target or those in traps, so maybe they will do the same with fear, though I could see that in PvP you might want them to keep attacking a feared target.  Who knows?!  I think though I will have to macro the pet attack to my immolate spell, that way it will not attack something that I’m not attacking.  That should do the trick.

I’m now more that 20% completed with level 84, it’s going quickly still especially with our 10% XP bonus from the guild and the 5% rep bonus it’s going very nicely.  I’ll get some more time tonight and a little on Wednesday, maybe I’ll be 85 before the weekend, but with travel again this weekend, otherwise I should be 85 at least early the next week.  So I guess I’ll still have made it to 85 in one month.  That’s not SO bad is it??

One Response to “Therazane > Sons of Hodir”

  1. repgrind Says:

    lol. No, that’s not bad at all .. and don’t forget about all the time you’ve spent on Elgar with his archaeology and stuff!

    There’s more to the game than just leveling to 85 as fast as you can and running heroics till your eyes bleed and then raiding the same content over and over and ov … um, I mean, hurray! You’re almost there, and soon you’ll be raiding with us again!! 😛


Leave a Reply

