Enough With The Archaeology!

I stopped focusing on my archaeology temporarily so that I could focus on leveling up on the warlock.  I managed to finish off Vashir ending at 50% of level 82, then headed over to Deepholm to finish up and ding 83.  I loved Vashir, the underwater world provided a stunning visual leveling experience and the quests were organized very well with a perfect mixture of kill, collect, and use-this quests.  It was good.  So I’m gonna give 2 thumbs up to Vashir.

Deepholm is also visually stunning so far.  A dark cave world which is pretty cool.  It kinda reminds me of Netherstorm for some reason.  I didn’t get too far into it, but it does seem like I have to travel lots more between quests than I did in Vashir.  It was also much more crowded than Vashir was, which already started to work on my nerve since there was heavy competition for quest mobs.  A couple of times everything was killed with no respawns that I wasn’t even sure I was in the right place since the landscape was void.  We’ll see how it goes.  I felt myself getting frustrated though.  I can only imagine what it was like those first few days!  Yikes!!

I did some more research on archaeology though as I am trying to figure if there are things I want to focus on trying to find.  A list of rewards from archaeology is here and the list of the dig site types is here.   These may help you if you are looking for things as well.  The dwarven staff looks amazing, though I’m sure it will be a lucky day if I get that and not another pair of dwarven baby slippers.

12 Responses to “Enough With The Archaeology!”

  1. BigFire Says:

    Odd, I have just the opposite experience. I was at Vashj’ir at the launch day. The whole place is so crowded, we have 100 people camping quest mob. By the time I got to Deepholmes, on day 2, I was at level 83, and the zone is much more spread out in terms of competition. Albeit, I was supplementing my questing with guild dungeon run. Being a tank means that as soon as you login, guildy will grab you for instance.

    • Troutwort Says:

      I imagine that the starting zones were very crowded on starting day, I didn’t start leveling until a little later though. I did more of deepholm last night, it was okay, though again the lack of flight paths and many people around kept it a little frustrating for my tastes. One nice thing is that people were good about taking turns with mobs and helping each other out to kill them after they were tagged.

  2. gromitdaddy Says:

    Grats on levelling and thank you for all the posts on archeology! Yeah, deepholme was so crazy, I gave up on it and moved on. But i agree, it is gorgeous.

  3. Analogue Says:

    I didn’t find Deepholm to be too bad, even right near the start. Also the quests get more compact after a while, I think; it took a while to get to the “go to this hub, do these quests” mode but once it did things got easier.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, I haven’t seen too much, but for now there seems to be more running about than usual and less flight paths? Is there even one at the Earthen Pillar thing? At leeast there are lots of shale spiders to hellfire for Critter Killer achievements. 😛

      • Analogue Says:

        We did that on our druids, with 310% flight speed, I didn’t even look for flight points. Once you start working for the giants though you basically proceed around the edge of the circle, doing one area at a time.

      • Troutwort Says:

        Well I like flight paths because I can AFK or something. I kinda hate flying myself. HA HA. Or I’m not paying attention and next I’m stuck on a coral. 😉

  4. repgrind Says:

    Yeah, there are no flight paths. Also, *everyone* will be doing Deepholm because they are the Hodir of Cata and their shoulder enchants are currently BoP. Karius still needs to do the zone. *sigh* But it’ll be worth it for Pebble. 😀

  5. wolfgangcat Says:

    Deepholm a really tough zone for my Priest (I’m doing the zone as Shadow.) I’m always at half health or less after one mob and constantly have to heal myself.

    I’m probably not playing Shadow correctly so it takes a long time to kill something – until I figure out what I’m doing wrong.

    • Troutwort Says:

      I haven’t tried leveling shadow yet, but I could imagine that waiting for DoTs to tick off could be annoying. And Mindspike clears your DoTs, so I haven’t figured out it’s purpose yet.

      • repgrind Says:

        From what I understand it has two uses … firstly it is an opener, because of the boost to mind blast’s crit I believe? Hit a couple of mind spikes first and it buffs mind blast? I’d have to look it up … I haven’t touched my priest yet. And then it can also be used when you have to move and will be reapplying DoTs soon anyway, or something like that. I really should at least level him to 81 one of these days so I can play with it.

  6. Mind Spike Madness « Reputation Grind Says:

    […] Spike Madness By repgrind A couple of weeks ago, in the comments of one of his posts, Trout mentioned that he wasn’t exactly sure what to do with Mind Spike. I gave a guesstimate […]


Leave a Reply

