The Day After

So it’s the day after Cataclysm.  What did you do?  What did I do?!?

Okay, so I logged onto Troutwort first, he had lagged out in Dalaran the night before so I was hesitant about it, again.  Fortunately, no one was there.  And I turned in a few quests I hadn’t been able to before.  I then trained flying in Azeroth and actually headed up to the Argent Tourney.  I was at 20000/21000 rep with the Alliance Vanguard so I queued for a dungeon so that I could get my Winds of the North and such.  Meanwhile, since he’s technically the GM, I poked around at the new guild features, etc.  By the time I logged on after 7pm, the guild had maxxed out rep for the day.  Though there were reports of other guilds having reached level 2 though we were stuck at 42% of level 1.  In effort to figure this out, we did a Heroic Azjul-Nerub for which we earned a guild achievement, but no guild experience.  Confused, I looked in the help button and saw there was a topic from Blizzard about how guild achievements were accidentally awarding guild XP and that this was not intended and any additional XP would be corrected and guilds will experience a loss in XP and potentially guild level as a result.  They basically didn’t want XP to come from achievements since some smaller guilds would not have the opportunities to get certain achievements as a larger guild will.  This may be why we experienced a stop of our XP gains.  I agree with Blizzards decision on this.

The whole rest of the evening was spent leveling archeology.  It took a long time, and I finally got the hang of it, but I really started to like it.  It went faster since I could fly around, but still traveling between zones was time-consuming.  I still really got into it, especially when I started to get close to completing archeological finds!  Though I didn’t make anything cool yet, I know the potential to find things is pretty awesome, so I’m gonna keep trying.  I am not sure how much of this I would do on other characters though since it’s quite time-consuming, it’s slower than fishing initially, but I think will be equivalent later.  I am also curious to get to Outlands and start finding things there.  I did gain almost 25% of level 80 just by doing Archeology, which was kinda crazy!  I was surprised to be getting so much XP from it.  Which is kinda a blessing and a curse, because as a priest the extra XP is nice since leveling as a healer can be difficult, but at the same time, I don’t want to miss out on quests later.  I’m not too worried I guess.

Still lots that wasn’t explored, I’ll get to it eventually…I’m envisioning more archeology tonight though, hoping for more good digs!  I’ll let the others race to 85.

8 Responses to “The Day After”

  1. slice213 Says:

    Hmm. Arch sounds like a lot of fun. but must get to 85! 🙂

  2. repgrind Says:

    The quests will still be there later, Trout, and you will get more gold for them if you’re max level. The only time to get xp for arch is now, so go for it!

    Hm, Kerick needs 3 valiant seals to finish off the last city for the Argent Tourney. I guess I should joust and find a maiden to give me a sword before I head off to the new old world tonight.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, I was pretty close with Trout, so I’ll probably leave him up there to joust and such until he finishes off the last one and then move him along. Besides, he’s not going to be the first one to 85 anyway, Rossini already called dibs!

  3. Gromdred Says:

    Agreed. Do the quests later and take the xp now

  4. ReversionLFM Says:

    Anyone who is not filthy rich should also sell any mats or cloth you get now. We made a grand on the AH without even trying or grinding or anything. People that want to get their profs maxed right away are blowing a ton of money there.

    • Troutwort Says:

      I love leveling professions, I mean, I have an alt with every profession maxed, save blacksmithing. But still, I will never understand why people will pay for mats! That just seems stupid to me, though I suppose I’m the working class, they are the upper-rich class. 😛

    • repgrind Says:

      Ugh, that’s what I forgot to do. Visit the AH before bed. Cruel and Arc got me sidetracked with dungeons. They’re two levels ahead of me, but they piled a bunch of higher level greens and blues on Kar to put in his bag til he had a good enough AIL to get into Stonecore. hehe


Leave a Reply

