If It Ain’t Broke…

…don’t fix it.

I know that things are never “final” as there have been many minor tweaks to things since patch 4.0.  I occasionally check out the test realm stuff to see the patch notes to see how they will be changing things slightly in the future.  Last night I was browsing around and saw this:

Power Word: Barrier duration reduced to 10 sec, down from 25 sec. No longer absorbs a given amount of damage, now reduces all damage done to friendly targets by 30%. While within the barrier, spellcasting will not be interrupted by damage.

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffFFUUUUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

This is not what I want!  I want GIANT BUBBLE like it was before!

Okay….I’m calming down.  But seriously, I love PW:B the way it is.  Basically a giant PW:Shield with a 3 minute cooldown.  I’m pretty sure that I’m not really going to be using PW:B all that much if it doesn’t absorb damage.  The current use of PW:B is more like an “oh crap” button that I can push to buy myself some healing time when things out outta control.  But casting it now isn’t going to save a tank with 10% health as by the time it takes me to get off my next heal just might be too late.  PW:B gave me 40k in absorption which was plenty of time for the next PW:Shield and penance to come off cooldown. 

Okay, now I’m raging again!!!  Seriously, PW:Barrier was epic, I am failing to see their logic behind this change.  I would really like to know the reason why they thought they wanted it to mitigate and stop spellcast interruption.  My guess is something to do with level 85 balance or that they felt it was too powerful or something or maybe PvP? 

Either way, I’m totally bummed and sadly, I bet I’ll be casting way less bubbles…this spell will go the way of Mind Vision.

The new PW:Barrier?  DO NOT WANT.

Posted in Priest. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “If It Ain’t Broke…”

  1. Ado Says:

    IMO, it balances the use of PW:B for any group size from 1 to 25. With a set damage absorbed it was too over powered on the small scale and not enough damage absorbed with a lot of toons under it. I also think it changes the use of the barrier from an “oh shit” response to deliberate use in raids to reduce overall damage.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yes, I understand and can agree that while both are useful and I understand the situations where the current form is “too powerful” in some PvP situations, I feel like the number of times I use PW:Barrier has just gone from “nearly every cooldown” to once or twice on specific boss fights.

      I guess disc priests don’t get an “oh shit” button anymore. Boo.

  2. lagalot Says:

    From a raid tanking perspective that’s a buff.

    • Troutwort Says:

      From a healing perspective, it’s a tank cooldown ability. Not a healing spell. Isn’t it just like group Shield Wall or that Icebound Fortitude thing? I dunno, just sounds much more like an ability a tank should have, not a priest. I understand how it is currently being designed to use now, but I see myself using it much less overall after this change goes effective.


Leave a Reply

