Better Late Than Never

If I had to stick myself into a stereotypical WoW player category, it’s altoholic, hands down.  My list of characters on Winterhoof has no room left for new players and I have one of every class except for warrior which I’ll be rolling in Cataclysm.  I even went to far as to try to balance how many of each race I had, but now with Worgen, that just throws me off-balance.  I didn’t want to end up like Repgrind with all humans.  Ha ha!

Recently, however, I was recruited by Analogue, after she and Reversion joined our guild, to join them in the 10-man group they were forming in preparation for Cataclysm.  Not being a raider, I was a little nervous about this, but I have every roll she would need and just asked what she was looking for.  As it turned out, they needed ranged DPS and probably spell caster.  Well I have plenty of those, and so Rossini the warlock was recruited for the group.

I was no expert on warlock but was totally prepared to make sure I knew what to do the best I could.  He’s demonology spec which brings a nice 10% increase to spellpower for the raid.  Analogue had put together an awesome raid group from the MANY awesome guild members we have available.  Now, keep in mind, while others were off battleling in the halls of ICC, I was probably leveling the shaman, the druid, and the paladin.  My raiding experience in ICC was pretty limited to the first 5 bosses (it was always the spore one – Festergut?).   See so few times I don’t know which is which. 

The first run with the new group was last weekend.  And Saturday we did 10 of 12, one shotting most bosses and even the first 3 on heroic.  We didn’t do many beyond that on heroic because our main tank hadn’t seen some of the fights.  Sunday we got down Sindy and then took some time to start the LK, though we ran out of time pretty quickly.  We realized that on LK we’re going to need a dedicated person to cleanse disease, we only had one ret paladin.  As a result, Analogue has asked me to bring Elgar, the healer.  We don’t need a third healer for most the fights, so Elgar used his dual spec to pick up shadow spec.  I was really worried that his gear wouldn’t be ok for shadow, but they have this great talent that gives spirit as hit, so I was way above the hit cap and can just do shadow in my disc gear, though the T-set bonus isn’t going to be helpful.  Maybe later I can pick up some pieces.

Raiding with Rossini was awesome, and I had already read about some tricks using the demonic teleport, like just let the Vykrul pull me to the edge because when she drops me I can portal right back up again.  Woot.  But at the same time, I am actually excited that Elgar gets to come.  Sure it will make Rossini feel like the red-moustached step child, but maybe that’s what turned him to demonology in the first place!  Elgar tried out a little shadow spec while working on his Exodar rep for Ambassador of the Alliance (which was earned Nov 1, 2010)!  And it seemed to be okay, it looks a bit different from I last remember and should be quite fun.  Though it’s hard to tell on mobs that are only level 12.  Ha!

And so Elgar will be raiding again (something he hasn’t done in ages) as both discipline and shadow, which is really awesome, and hopefully will get to down the Lich King, but if not, that’s okay, because I know that we’re forming a great bond with this new group and we’ll be ready to tackle what ever sort of elemental crap they can throw at us.

9 Responses to “Better Late Than Never”

  1. Analogue Says:

    Aww, you make me so happy this group is going well!

    We’re going to have some shakeups this week… to be expected, we’re still learning about each other, finding personality conflicts, scheduling conflicts… I totally forgot my brother owes one weekend a month to the Army but we can work with that… ah, fun.

  2. repgrind Says:

    You’re just jealous because my toons are all so handsome.

  3. slice213 Says:

    Woo~ grats on the run! I still have a blast raiding, even this close to Cata. 🙂

    And belfs > humans. That is all. 😛


Leave a Reply

