Snowed In!

Winter in Wisconsin is…brutal to say the least. We got over 18 inches of snow last night and today was a snow day!  Which is great for the day after a patch.  Last night many people were getting locked in dungeons and otherwise just having not so much good times as to be expected after a big patch. 

I just did dailies to avoid most of the craziness. 

Today though I got to try out some of the new features!  There are really two things that really stand out as awesome in my mind.  One is the new quest/map combo thing.  It’s awesome.  Never being a fan of many add-ons, I never have used a quest helper or whatever the other ones might be called were.  So this new system is pretty nice because it kinda reminds me of quests that I might have picked up once but never got around to finishing.  Awesome.  Nothing but props to Blizzard there!

But the best system, hands down is the new LFG.  Now it might be because it’s just after patch and everyone is finishing up getting their badges or is after their free badges of frost or whatever, but the system has been so smooth.  The BEST feature of it is that it measures gear.  Now I have sworn up and down the board before that I hate gear scores, etc.  But this system makes sure that when I select random dungeon, or random heroic, that it’s not going to put me in something I’m not ready for.  A rogue in our guild just dinged 80 and it wouldn’t let us LFG for H ToC because of his gear, it said so plain as day!  It was kinda a neat feature.  We did it anyways.  😛  But it ensures that even though you might want to do something it won’t always let you if you’ll be dead weight of sorts.

I sadly got rolled into Oculus on my second random roic.  He he, I’ve only been in there a few times as it’s generally everyone’s least favorite, but we did well and it all worked out.  I have to give props to Blizz on this system.

I also used it on a level 48 alt.  AWESOME!  For all those dungeons you love but never get to do?  Well, it didn’t take more than 10-15 minutes and the group was ready to go.  Off to Sunken Temple.  It was the most fun I’ve had in a long time!  The reward bag was full of a special blue quality item that was specific to whatever class and spec you are!  The mage, priest and druid all got appropriate spell casting gear while the tank got a piece with high stamina and I got some nice boots that had 15 strength and stamina on them for DPS.  Awesome. 

Aside from all that, the warlock demonology buffs are amazing.  I might still not be pulling as much DPS as the other guys, but my Soul Fires now crit for over 10k and I’m still in half or more than half blues!  It’s quite fun.  I’m looking forward to trying out more.

Haven’t done the new dungeon yet, but it’s not going anywhere, so I’ll get there.

2 Responses to “Snowed In!”

  1. lagalot Says:

    I still fear to pick random with both tank and healer checked. I’m not sure how smart that gearlevel checking thing is, but if they stuck me in h hor as healer we’d be in trouble 😦 I havn’t had any complaints about the random matching yet. No random horde attacks at summoning stones anymore, though, I suppose many won’t miss that.

  2. theerivs Says:

    Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

