DPS Meme

So I got tagged from Repgrind and here’s my response.  Since there’s so much mage love coming from people on the blogs I read, I eventually settled on the Mage as my DPS choice.  Though it was hard to decide!!  Even now I’m sitting here thinking…maybe I should have gone with the warlock?

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Oh god!  Question one is so difficult!!  What’s this “main” you speak of?  I suppose I’ll have to go with Troutwort himself.  But oh man, I love Schubert!!  Why the choices?  Because even now Rossini the warlock is so much fun!!  Okay okay…since I was tagged from a mage, maybe I’ll go with a mage, since we have some different mage thoughts.  Brewmaster Schubert the mage, he is dual specced fire and frost.  He’s done most of his everything as frost.

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Mostly 5 mans.  Raids are always a good time, but I just can’t seem to fit many into my constantly changing schedule.  I don’t really care for the repeated death of PvP.

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

Okay, it’s going to be Mirror Images, not because it’s awesome, but because it makes so many gnomes!

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

I don’t think I have EVER cast arcane missles.  Never.  Seriously, never.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

As frost the thing I like the most is that I have enough survivability that I don’t take as much damage as some of the other DPS classes, also replenishment!!  Having a main as a healer, I understand the love of replenishment.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

The biggest weakness of frost spec is that the DPS is lower than other mage specs, hopefully with patch 3.3 we’ll get some love.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

Schubert, sadly, has never been on a 25-man. 

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

Anyone that gives me bonuses to haste and spell power, so I have a love for the elemental shaman.

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

I don’t think there’s a tank class I don’t like.  They all have strengths and weaknesses and since I’m pretty much single target I don’t worry about agro too much.  And when or if I shoot the wrong mob, I can kite them around, freeze them, sheep them, and otherwise deal with them on my own so that there is no worry. 

What is your worst habit as a dps?

Freezing mobs!  Whoops, I know that I shouldn’t do it as much as I do, it’s harder on the tanks, but I like to freeze the AOE groups then blizzard them down with super crits from the freeze!

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

I’m actually far too judgmental of the healers, being mostly a healer, I criticize them too much.  But for the other DPS, it’s when they run ahead or are generally not respectful of the tanks and heals.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

Frost is behind the other mages, but they have so much control relative to the others as well, so it makes up for it.  More haste please!!

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?

I guess recount?  Nothing really though.  Mostly I evaluate my performance if I’m alive at the end of the fight and the boss is dead. 

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

Glass cannons.  Yes, it’s true, but we have many survivability tools, especially as frost.  The other misconception is that I’ll be a hazard because of low DPS, they usually fail to remember that frost gives replenishment.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

Do what you’re told.  DPS the mob you’re supposed to, remove the curses, poisons, etc. if you don’t have another class that can.  Your DPS meter is great, but you still need to be a team player to get the job done.  Also:  Dear Ret Paladins, Priests can’t cleanse poisons, you need to do it or you die.  Love Elgar, the priest.

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

Hmmm…I probably least understand Rogues and Warriors.  I’ve never made it past level 18 with either one of them.  So I’m not sure how they work beyond stun-locking me until I’m dead.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

None?  That’s not totally true…well kinda actually.  I only use Decursive to help with dispelling things and hmm…I can’t even think of the UI I run…X-Perl, that’s it!  But I only use it when raiding.  Otherwise I’m pretty much looking at a vanilla screen.  I don’t like clutter.

Strength over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

Hit cap isn’t too hard to reach for frost, was much more a challenge on fire.  I try to stack spell power otherwise, and I have this strange infatuation with Intellect.  Otherwise, Schubert loves him some haste!  I think the strength lies in the spell power though.

3 Responses to “DPS Meme”

  1. repgrind Says:

    “Mirror Images, not because it’s awesome, but because it makes so many gnomes!”

    Yeah, and they’re usually nekkid, too ❤


Leave a Reply

