The Great Patch Debate

Tonight talk of the patch came up in guild chat.  Nothing too serious, but someone complaining about the new badge system and how people will again be able to run heroics and get gear that is on par or just one set behind those who are raiding.  They were upset over “free epics”.

Okay, so maybe it’s just me, but I don’t care what kind of epics are at the end of the rainbow, doing the same dungeons over and over and over on 3+ level 80s so they can all get gear…boo.  So I don’t do it.  Maybe others do, but it seems like lots of work to me.  I tried to propose to this person that the patch has more to offer than just new gear, and isn’t the experience of raiding the real reason to go and the loot is just a special side effect?

They they complained that yes, the patch has more than gear, it has nerfs too.  I think I was talking to Mr. Negativity.  I then joked that if you play a non-favored class and especially a non-favored spec, you’ll always get buffs in the patches *cough cough* frost mages and demonology warlocks.  Now I’m not saying play a class or spec that you don’t like so that you always get buffs.  That’s not why I picked frost mage, I just liked playing it better – though I’m really enjoying fire since the dual spec. 

Patches are always dicey like that, though I can’t think of a patch where I was upset about it.  Well except when they nerfed penance.  But mostly I’ve been excited about the patches because there’s new content, new loot, new talents, new everything!  Even a nerf isn’t always bad, I sometimes want to say hey DKs, it’s not that you’re so awesome at DK, it’s that they made them too powerful over the other classes, so stop crying that you’re being put on par with the others.  He he. 

I’m still looking forward to the next patch, and to expansions.  Though there’s a lot more to do yet!  Speaking of which, I’ll never get Rossini to 79 by typing here instead of playing!

Posted in Patch. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “The Great Patch Debate”

  1. repgrind Says:

    What did you do, tab out every other sentence in guild chat to make a post? =P

    Some people are always going to care about having better gear than anyone else, and there’s nothing we can do to change them. They can link achievements if they want to stroke themselves. The bottom line is, more people are seeing more content than ever before, and that can only be a good thing. Even for people’s alts/new mains not just new players, it’s great to be able to gear up to the level necessary to run the latest content. I mean really, my latest 80 would love a run through Naxx, but who does Naxx anymore? Thankfully, with EoC and EoT from daily heroics, plus HToC, he can get geared enough to hit Ulduar.

  2. lagalot Says:

    I rather look forward to not-steamrolling again. The woo cool we one shotted everything novelty eventually degrades into just farming for the next patch. wtb heroic heroic modes

    • Troutwort Says:

      I couldn’t agree more, one-shotting everything takes away the challenge from the game. But I do always look forward to new dungeons, ToC was kinda a fail dungeon, good loot, but no real challenge once you figured it out. I wouldn’t mind seeing the current dungeons upgraded, or even the outlands ones become heroic heroics, I mean MgT was one of the toughest instances I’ve ever been in for it’s level, period. I’d love to see something like that again.

  3. For The Pie Says:

    People who whine about the new patch should learn to shut it.

    Seriously, I remember taking several hours of days off of raiding so we could gear an alt to get them up to our level because something in the raid makeup changed and we needed that alt. That was in addition to grinding for mats for consumables and raiding 4 nights a week.

    Sure the WOTLK raiding is easier, I bet some of those complaining wouldn’t have made it in Vanilla or BC raids (pre nerf)

    • Elnoriah Says:

      “Sure the WOTLK raiding is easier, I bet some of those complaining wouldn’t have made it in Vanilla or BC raids (pre nerf)”

      Pie, you took the words right out of my mouth!

      It’s funny, every time I go up against Faction Champs I just laugh at how EASY the fight would have been back in BC where fights like that were, well somewhat normal. God forbid we have to CC! Honestly, I don’t even know how some people are in similar/better gear than I am in.

  4. Light Says:

    Epics aren’t free, you still need to run a billion heroics to get them. They also don’t give you weapons/shields/offhands at 245 level from the vendor.

    New patches just level the playing field for latecomers and alts.

    If you want to prove that someone actually knows their stuff, then look for the Heroic tag on the gear.

    I’ll be happy when 3.3 comes out as I can actually run tons of heroics with the new LFG and get PVP gear for my priest, and enhancement gear for my shaman. It’s good all over 🙂


Leave a Reply

