Prefer not to be Preferred

Winterhoof is now a preferred server.

My thought?  In a word:  Boo.

Okay, so I love noobs as much as the next guy.  I was one!  I have no trouble with new players joining the game, it’s a fun one, and they should join!  But what I do have a problem with is us being tagged as preferred and now instead of people randomly picking servers to join when they first start playing, they pick our server.  Again no problem…mostly.  I have ONE problem.

I now have a queue on my server.  Yes.  I transferred from a server with a queue back in February to Winterhoof.  The population was really low, there was no lag in Dalaran, I didn’t have to fight people for quest mobs.  It was great, there was no queue when I wanted to log in, I didn’t have anyone on my ignore list.  The player base was mostly experienced people who also took the free transfer.  Life was good, really good. 

I’m a little peeved at Blizzard for marking us as preferred.  We went from low population to max capacity in literally like 2 days.  I know it’s just a little queue at the moment and hopefully some will quit, get annoyed with Furenchtoast and leave, or reroll on other servers, but man…if I have to start facing daily queues again, Blizz better up this servers capacity…or else. 

Or else…I’ll…complain more?  /cry 

I liked Winterhoof the way it was.

Posted in Rant. 14 Comments »

14 Responses to “Prefer not to be Preferred”

  1. For The Pie Says:

    /w Trouthwort I can haz 100 gold plz?

  2. lagalot Says:

    Maybe this is why /trade is so hostile towards people asking questions. There is personal gain in driving people off. I wonder if the atmosphere would be different if server overpopulation didn’t happen.

  3. Eldadres Says:

    Bleh, I sort of wish they marked Smolderfail for it. We need more Allies to hunt!

    I am beginning to forget what Humans taste like!

  4. repgrind Says:

    I’ve been whining about this for a week now. A couple times lately when I have wanted to hop on and work on Karius a bit, there was a queue .. so I played Horde instead. Stupid queue!

    • Troutwort Says:

      I know it’s just a small queue now, but the longer we stay as “preferred” the longer the queue gets. I had one last night of 151. I was not a happy camper. Now it’s no 500-700 like I had on Eonar, but still. Boo.

  5. krizzlybear Says:

    Oh gosh. Furenchtoast bugs the hell outta me. But there’s that one other person whose name I forget, EVERY DAY she goes “Hey, did you hear? John Madden Died!”

    Tee hee. I hate the sudden queues as well. The reason why I transferred was because of them. Oh well. At least I have someone to PuG with!

  6. repgrind Says:

    Oh yeah, Mombank. She has one of those macros that says “Mombank has pickpocketed (some number)s from you” …. made me look twice the first time it happened.


Leave a Reply

