Back to it…

Well I’m finally back to the office today.  Oy, how do I get more vacation?

Hopefully tonight I’ll get back to the WoW as well.  I haven’t “played” since August 14th other than just popping in to check on guild status after my week vacation.  We lost a few and gained a few, but we’re settling in after the most recent surge of new members.  We also had many new level 80s during my vacation.  It’s great! 

We’ll be attempting some 10-man raids this weekend.  And now that we have enough 80s for raiding, and enough interest, I’m starting to feel some pressures and stresses that I didn’t have when our guild was just leveling casual craziness.  We had scheduled up a raid for this weekend and the 10-man roster filled pretty quick.  We actually had more people interested than available, but not enough to make it a 25-man…and now with lots of the new 80s that want to get in on the action I’m going to start having to decide how to divide people up, maybe start a second 10-man group, which might mean recruiting more tanks, and oy…my head is spinning.

I figure the first thing to figure out is who is interested in raiding on a regular schedule, and when they can make it.  I am already envisioning this taking some Excel spreadsheet work.  Who the casual sub-in raiders will be and all that business.  Also figuring out a loot system as well though I don’t think that our guild will have “too” much trouble with that.  Everyone seems really interested in helping each other get geared – as displayed by the generous gemming, crafting, and enchanting between us all – and hopefully our current loot distribution of rolling on pieces as needed will work.

I was with a group that had everyone just roll if they wanted it, highest roll won.  But they had someone keep track of who had already one things.  If you won the next time you won the roll the item would go to the next highest roll of someone who hadn’t gotten anything yet.  I really liked this system.  To me though, the most confusing thing about loot is “off-spec” to me it’s mostly confusing because I only have one spec on my characters.   So I sometimes get a little peeved that someone gets to roll on my item for off-spec.  Figuring out the best way to do that will take some thought too.  I think I’ll give main spec (i.e. the spec you’re currently raiding in) priority and if no one needs it then it goes to off spec.  That seems better than sharding the item…how to “count’ the off-spec items though.  I guess the loot rules will probably need to be drafted up and if people don’t like it we’ll amend and change until we can please the “most” people…no group is ever 100% happy.

So filling raid slots and loot distribution are now things that I’m going to have to start thinking about where before I only thought about helping people through dungeons.  Things are changing, but we’re excited about it.  For most of us, this is all very new territory.

11 Responses to “Back to it…”

  1. sylus Says:

    I’ll be around when I get to 80…log time coming though! Just hit 14, woot? lol. I’ll try to find someone in game this evening to get me little pally in guild. I’m glad you guys aren’t totally down on us because we played horde! and lvoe horde…and will be horde for life…until worgen come around! The baby pally’s name is Boldrid. He’s a future 80…probably distant future…
    ~Sylus

  2. repgrind Says:

    We finally got enough people to 80 to raid and they’re all jumping to Crits. See what I started, Trout? :p
    I’m halfway there on Karius …. but I have special people hordeside to play with, so I can’t commit to Alliance full time.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Also, Winterhoof has had a queue in the evenings lately, and I’ll be damned if I’m gonna wait in line when I can hop on Dawnbringer instantly. Screw that.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Apparently we were tagged as a preffered server, meaning, “Hey new players, come here!!” So there are lots of noobs on our server now. Great. I had a level 6 ask me yesterday where he could get a mount, specifically the bear mount for his dwarf. Oy…I mean, I was a noob once too, but now our server is going to be heavy with low level fodder.

      • theerivs Says:

        Speaking of noobs running around, I had someone ask me where the weapon master was. I replied, “Ask a guard”

        I laughed my arse off, haven’t done that in awhile.

      • Troutwort Says:

        I feel a little bit bad for them, I mean hell, I trained thrown weapons as a hunter because I didn’t know what it meant but if I could train it, I better have it! But you probably did the person a favor, they might not have even known they could talk to guards!

  4. Light Says:

    Instead of getting people for two 10 mans I’d suggest just running a 25 man and PUGging the rest of the people…

    Loot rules give me headaches. I think I’ve changed them for the 25 mans that I run about 5 times already. Nobody is ever happy. Main spec/off spec is good for progression content but not good for farming. It’s not fair to the tanks and healers, as they often don’t get to go as their DPS specs.

    Best of luck to you, and if you are the raid leader, don’t take bull from people. Best advice I can give you 🙂

    • Troutwort Says:

      The 25-man route did cross my mind…the main reason I’m looking at two 10-mans is because of tank raid time availability, we have some that can only raid weekends, some that can only raid weeknights, so making two groups seems best.

      I assume that 10-man and 25-man are two seperate raid IDs though, so we might run two 10-mans and one 25-man when most of the people can, still much preparation to be done to try and find the best times for everyone. But I already know that I won’t be able to please everyone.

      • Light Says:

        Yep, they have separate IDs. You guys should also try to run OS 10/25 as it is very fast if you don’t leave the drakes up. It’s about the same difficulty as Naxx 10/25.

        Train someone else to be your assistant as well 🙂

      • Troutwort Says:

        OS and at least the A guy not Emulan from VoA is on the list for starting. Naxx progression will come there after. Yes, there will be assistants.


Leave a Reply

