Cataclysm

Well after spending a week in the great north woods, I have managed to return myself to reality and have been trying to catch up on the important happenings of the last week.  I’m actually surprised how long it took me to catch up on some of the news:  seriously, Brett Favre the Vikings?  Give it a rest old man, it’s over.

But in more important news I headed over to www.worldofwarcraft.com and just about fell out of my chair.  I figured the third expansion pack would be announced but never, NEVER did I expect what I saw.  Obviously you can get all the details you want from the actual announcements so I won’t review that but I will talk a little bit about the most exciting parts, to me anyways.

Old World Changes:
OH GOD OH CRAP!  Everything is changing, this good readers, is friggin’ amazing.  I know that some of my most beloved zones will be forever changed and perhaps some of my most beloved quests as well, but in a way, they are recreating the whole game.  This is awesome.  As someone who enjoys alts I am particularly excited about the changes to the old world.  This will revive what was dying about the old game.  The revamping of the world including flying mounts and weaving in new high level zones into the game is brilliant if you ask me.  It’s inspiring for low level toons to see higher ones out and about and not just in capitol cities accessing banks and hearthing back out.  I am very excited about the revamping of the old world, even if it means the destruction of some of my favorite areas, oh, and the new Desolace from the trailer looks amazing. 

New Races:
Well it was predicted and it was correct.  I am curious to see how this plays out for the Goblins most particularly.  Does this mean the Steamweedle Cartel is of no more or are they simply a different faction?  I am going with the later, but who knows.  As for the Worgen, if there is a human form alternative that is awesome.  The ability for a Worgen to appear normal as well is pretty sweet.  I will undoubtedly play one of each if for nothing more than seeing the new starting areas. 

The goblin and worgen classes were somewhat predictable?  Maybe, maybe not.  I was a little surprised by some of the combinations.  I didn’t expect the Worgen Druid, but now that I have read a little more about the history of the worgen and such it makes a little more sense.  I did know they were related in a way to the Night Elves.  In my other post on class speculations for Goblins and Worgen I was nearly correct in my “predictions” and what Blizz came up with.  They had more classes available to each of them than I originally thought and for Goblins, for example, they did include Shaman and Warlock where I didn’t have them making the cut.  This is great though, I’m always up for more class combinations available.  The speculated racials are not that far off some of the ones I predicted as well.  The cooldown on their gadgets are similar to what I thought might happen with the nets and the Worgen getting a speed boost and increased skinning only makes sense.  It’s predictable, but good in my opinion. 

New Class Combos:
The new class combos were apparently leaked prior to the event through data-mining, but I was unaware until the video and actually had to rewind through that part to view some of the new class combos.  For class balance it makes sense.  Lore is yet to be determined, but that’s always changing anyways, so it seems that as their world changes, so do the heroes and the races.  It makes sense.  I didn’t see some of the new class/race combos coming, but some of the most exciting to me are the dwarf shaman and gnome priest, I have a screenshot of a gnome priest from Gnomeregan somewhere…but I doubt I’ll change Elgar’s race to gnome, even though he’d be way cute.

Needless to say, I’m generally excited at the possibilities of the expansion, of course, there’s so much that is subject to change before its anticipated release in 2010.  But what they have proposed so far will hopefully bring a revitalization to the game as we know it.  I am certainly looking forward to those changes.

13 Responses to “Cataclysm”

  1. For The Pie Says:

    WTB spot(s) in guild for:

    1 former Belf paladin
    1 former Belf priest

  2. theerivs Says:

    Welcome back, and some class combos seem interesting others are crazy, Worgen Mage really? I might have to come back to the alliance for Worgen though, it’s intriqueing me.

    • Troutwort Says:

      There seemed to be many races added for the Mage. I now think that any Alliance race will be able to roll a mage if I’m correct.

      I had heard too that perhaps the Worgen and Goblins wouldn’t be able to be DKs since they were technically protected. I liked this idea, though they decided that it was better to keep it.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Arugal himself was an Archmage .. so to me, worgen mages make perfect sense.

    I might reroll my warrior as worgen. Or make a rogue. I haven’t decided. Then again, I don’t have a warlock…anywhere. lol

  4. repgrind Says:

    Haha, yeah, ranged ftw!
    I do have a warrior who made it to 48, and one at 22. My rogues have made … 18 and 15. >.>

  5. repgrind Says:

    Ok, and on the alliance side, 7 warrior and 2 rogue, but they weren’t really rolled to play. The rogue is the bank alt. :p

  6. Eldadres Says:

    Worgen definitely look very cool, but I will be honest and say that I find the Goblins much more awesome.

    They are like Gnomes, just I do not have the sensation to punt them!

    As for what to play on them? Goblin will depend on what my friends are playing most likely (we are either completely re rolling, or just playing for the fun of it). Yet the Worgen? Maybe a Mage, or a Rogue?

    Troll Dr00ds FTW, ’nuff said.

    Welcome back Trout my man!

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks for the welcome back, I feel totally refreshed after such a detox-type vacation. There were days when I didn’t even have caffeine!

      I will admit that I am probably more likely to play a Goblin than a Worgen in the future, but I will also say that I will probably play both just to see the starting zone. The Worgen are cool, but I have everything I need alliance side. So they don’t offer me something new there. I do expect to see lots of Dwarf Shaman popping up all over the place though—and I bet Human Hunters.

  7. repgrind Says:

    OMG Troll Droods for sure. My little tauren is just a spaceholder now. Good thing she only made it to 12.


Leave a Reply

