V-o-Awww…

Awww.  Shucks.  Dang.

We almost had him.  3 times.

Last night we did a VoA PUG.  We had about 4-5 guildies in our 10-man.  I was disc healing along with a guild pally for the other tank and a druid for support/raid heals.  We had two tanks that did really well.  The trick with VoA is always the DPS.  After two unfortunate attempts at Emalon or whatever his name is, we went over to Archavon to get at least one down as to not have our heads hang completely in shame.  I was fortunately to get the T7 pants off him, which are kinda a side grade for me, I still haven’t made up my mind completely on them yet.  Anyways, we headed back to Emalon and made several more attempts, we were very close at least 4 times.  He was less than 600K!  We should have had him, the last time before we got booted out, was 200K.  Damn.

Here are things we learned:

  • Do not reapply the PW:Shield as the tank starts to run in.  It could possibly be too late and the adds will come right for you.  I have to communicate better with tanks, they always seem to say “ready?”  I buff them up and then my PW:Shield fades off before they actually pull.  😦
  • In a panic, do not Hand of Protection your tank.  Whoops!  Where’s my aggro?!
  • Please to kill the enraged monster thing.  It makes big explosion, which will make Elgar very sad.  Very VERY sad…and dead.
  • Bring more ranged DPS.  Melee, why are there so many of you?

We’ll get him next time I know it.  I want to give shouts out to all that came with that might read this.  Everyone did an excellent job, for many of the raid members being “under geared” for raids we did alright!  One great thing was that there were no deaths due to lack of healing (except one time on confused assignments)!  So we only wiped when someone exploded us all. 

My vacation starts tomorrow.  I’ll be gone until August 22nd.  No phone, no internet, no TV.  It’s going to be awesome as always.  I can’t wait!!  No WoW either, though I’m sure we’ll still talk about it.  And then when I come back??!  Blizzcon news!  I might speed on the way back, just to read about it.  He he.  Also we scheduled the first raid for Crits and Giggles, it’s just OS and VoA 10-man.  I’m excited about it.  I think we’ll have enough interested and hopefully we’ll be alright.  Unfortunately we’ll only be able to take 10 with us and we might have more interest than that.  We might be awkward for a little bit as we only have enough tanks and healers for one 10-man group and not enough guild members to make a 25-man.  Perhaps we’ll have to see about getting more tanks and healers to have two 10-man groups a week.

I’ll admit, it’s a little bit exciting knowing that the raid will not be PUG.

7 Responses to “V-o-Awww…”

  1. theerivs Says:

    Have a great vacation, I want pics too, cause I don’t go no wheres….ever 😦

  2. lagalot Says:

    If everyone is running dbm, the /distance command will display a window that show if anyone is within 10′, and it will give the countdowns for when an add starts charging his laser. Everyone except the mt must switch. After that it’s just a dps race, 1.75k average on the big guy. How’d healing through chain lightning on a pile of melee go? Most pugs just refuse to bring more than 1 or 2.

    • Troutwort Says:

      You know the healing was great. We only had one hunter and one mage, so lots of Melee. The healing team did a great job over all, I “think” the druid was dropping heals on the raid, I’d toss out PoH when I could, and PoM bouncing around helped lots too. I think the guild run will have more ranged…I think.

  3. repgrind Says:

    *sigh* only 42 levels to go …. >.<

  4. Pike Says:

    Have a good vacation!


Leave a Reply

