Patch Day: An Emotional Ride

I want to laugh, I want to cry, I want to poke myself in the eye.

Oh patch day.  How I love and loathe you!  You tease me with things like new mounts and mini-pets all while nerfing my classes subtly.  Having many alts I can get really excited about one class and feel really bummed about another…I’m basically an emotional rollercoaster.  So without the patch notes infront of me, let’s review some things that will either make me happy or make me cry.  My emotions are ready for this, I have tissues.

Mount level requirements and costs reduced!  Yay!
Normal flying mount speed increased!  Double Yay!
New druid skins!  Yay!
New raptor mini-pets!  Yay!
New badge system for normal and heroic raids/dungeons!  Yay?  (I’m still not sure about this one.)

Okay, so all the novelty things work out okay.  But what about the class specific things?

Penance cooldown increased to 12 seconds.  Double Boo!
Spell power effectiveness of Prayer of Healing reduced 30%!  Double Boo!
Mass dispell now procs some trinkets!  Was this a concern?  Huh?
Frostbolt now has 4% less crit, but 0.2 sec reduced cast time!  Yay!
Frostbite now has reduced healing effect – I can haz mortal strike?!  Yay!
Totems now can be arranged and set to plop more at once!  Double Yay!
Penance cooldown increased to 12 seconds.  So bad it deserves two Double Boo!

So talent changes…boo.  Seriously, Penance cooldown increased AND the decreased effectiveness of Prayer of Healing?  So as disc, I as already horrid at AOE healing, and now it just got worse thanks to reduced effectiveness, I bet the mana cost didn’t get reduced 30%.  /rage

New transmutes for alchemists to make epic gems!  Double Yay! 
Self only profession buff effects increased!  Yay!
Effectiveness of gathering profession passive or active buffs increased!  Yay!
Glyph of PW:Shield can now proc Divine Aegis.  Yay!
Hmmm…I don’t think there were any other things for the professions that I have.

So professions, generally yay!  Especially since I’m transmute spec.  Hopefully I’ll proc some extra gems.

So over all score?  Meh. 

Okay, like I started out saying, I’m dazzled by the new mount changes, the professions, the changes to frost mages, and even excited at the mini-pets.  But I’ll be honest.  I am not excited to play my disc priest after tonight.  Apparently Elgar was so over-powered with his AOE healing and his penance that it needed the nerf bat.  Apparently no one at blizz plays a disc priest.  ARGH!  I’m still raging about it.  Elgar, sorry, but I think you’re going to be shelved for a bit until I can get over this.  You didn’t deserve this man, you didn’t deserve this…the foam sword has crit you.

19 Responses to “Patch Day: An Emotional Ride”

  1. repgrind Says:

    Poor Elgar. First he gets removed from the top of the blog, and now Blizz nerfs him to the ground. I guess you could do like Fiak and switch to druid and shaman. Now that you could buy cold weather flying for Borka, leveling him would be fast. Oh heck, Sib is 68, you could buy it for him, too! Katia will be stuck riding til 77. *sigh*

  2. theerivs Says:

    Mages Changes = Meh to bad. Oh frost gets a MS effect, whoopee doo.

    • Troutwort Says:

      @ Rivs – Well since I play frost, I get excited about the haste and MS effect. Though there really aren’t many other mage changes–I don’t think. So I can see how this is meh for other mages.

      @ Rep – yeah, the thought has already passed my mind…Sibelius is in Northrend already, it might be time to focus on him and leave Elgar in the dust, but I love him so much. /emotion I just love disc healing more.

  3. repgrind Says:

    What the …. how did I not notice this one before?

    Mage Tier-7 2-Piece Bonus: Now grants 25% additional mana from mana gems, down from 40%.

    /rage

    • Troutwort Says:

      Maybe they are trying to discourage people from using T7 and just get something better with their new badges.

      • repgrind Says:

        Nah, it’s part of their ‘nerf mana and mana regen’ platform. They’re quite good at it. But it might balance out, with the reduction in the mana cost of arcane blast.

        BTW, my car’s brake fluid is in a puddle underneath it. Assuming the realms ever come up at all, you may not see me tonight until late. Waiting on a tow truck now. /le sigh

      • Troutwort Says:

        Yikes!! I hope the car is okay!!

  4. Light Says:

    New patch and new theme I see!

    They’re nerfing all healers down, except for shamans, because we suck. This is to make it “interesting”. Can we just bring shamans up instead of bringing everyone else down? O.o

    • Troutwort Says:

      I have a guess that my disc changes are a result of them trying to balance out PvP a little. But dang, that just stinks. Really. And yes, just bring the shammy’s up a bit, that would work for me!! This healer feels sad about this patch and less enthusiatic to heal.

  5. kaif01 Says:

    I have an 80 resto druid and an 80 disc priest. I like them both, but the disc healing system felt very natural to me and has always been my favorite. That said, with the lack of talents to improve output, the penance god-awful ass-backward nerf, and even the nerf to our one aoe heal (already a mana hog, but an effective one)…

    I stopped playing him when the patch notes came out. I don’t want to be a subpar tank healer incharge of raid shielding. Ick.

    So I started playing my druid more in pvp – in pvp blues and some 10/25 naxx epics – I was nearly invincible in BGs. It’s amazing. Plus, I could heal FOREVER. I never had to slow down. Yet disc got nerfed. I don’t get it at all, but I’m having enough fun on my druid and now my shaman (enhancement rules, but I know I’m going to end up healing some) so I’m sure I’ll cope.

  6. For the Pie Says:

    Oh bad news. Apparently Winterhoof is down until 11:59 PM PST tonight.

    I’d invite you to Dawnbringer but we aren’t up yet either.

  7. Kiewee Says:

    I wouldn’t worry about some servers being up/down…
    I play on Ghostlands, and even though realm status says it’s up, it really isn’t. It’s impossible to log on.

    I like the general changes alot, and some of the class changes.

    As for character changes:-

    I play a ret paladin, and I agree their burst needed a nerf. I’ll wait and see how they play before I QQ.

    I have a level 55 Frost Mage too, ❤ him so much… and MS effect will be a big help in arena at 80 methinks. BIG help.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Happy to see some more love for the frost mage! I know we have at least two in our guild that I think will be Frost 4 Life. The MS effect will be most useful in battlegrounds. I’m not sure that it will proc on bosses though since they are usually immune to frostbite, we’ll have to see if the effect still procs.

  8. repgrind Says:

    /cast pyroblast
    /giggle

  9. repgrind Says:

    Well…yeah…but… awwww, damn.
    /snuggle Schubert


Leave a Reply

