Stuck on me…

I was advised as a young hunter/mage/priest/pick-a-class to pick up first aid as a secondary skill.  So nearly all of my characters have picked it up and I try to make a good effort to keep the skill up with the excess cloth that I’m finding at the time.  The tailors always fell a little behind, but still managed to keep the skill up. 

Last night after our guild chat had a brief commercial interjection thanks to Cheerios and Band-Aid, I got to thinking about well…food and first aid.  Cooking was also a skill that I leveled up on several of my characters, a few didn’t pick it up, but they were always supplied excess food from my other characters, the mage, well, he just made his own. 

So anyways, I got to thinking about it, how many times I bandage myself versus how many times I just eat some salted venison or northern plumberries (or whatever they are).  I sit and eat far more often than I bandage myself.  Now I know the advantage of the bandage is that you can use it during combat, but when I use it during combat it always seems that I don’t get the full duration before I’m interrupted.  The little bit of health helps yes, saves the healer some mana, but I usually use my escape mechanism and just eat for full health afterwards.

So then, why do I do it?  Why am I so stuck on leveling up first aid?  Honestly, I have no friggin clue!  Between all my characters I have probably bandaged only 50 times in what like some 500 levels?!?  50/500 that’s like once every 10 levels I use a bandage.  That sounds about right.  I mostly use them for goofing off, bandaging people after combat for hilarity.  So am I really wasting all that cloth on the change of some small comic relief? 

Perhaps raiding atmosphere uses more bandages?  I used one in a battleground once after killing a paladin.  But since I don’t raid much, perhaps they are used more there than I know?  I can’t say!

But the more I think about it, I realize that I just plain don’t use bandages that much, and the times I did, it probably wouldn’t have prevented death so much as it just made for a quicker recovery than waiting to chow down on my venison steak.  To think of all that money I could have made by selling that cloth on the AH instead…the new characters are selling that crap.  To hell with first aid, herbalism effect (lifeblood) is much better anyways since it doesn’t get interrupted.

Also, why is there no Nurse title?  Seriously, healers would be all about getting the Nurse title I’m sure.  “Hello, I’m Nurse Elgar and I’m here to heal your PUG.”  Friggin awesome.

11 Responses to “Stuck on me…”

  1. Light Says:

    As a healer I don’t have time between spamming heals to use a bandage. Ever. It’s easier to heal myself or use a healthstone if I can remember. I don’t think DPS in raids uses them either, because in Naxx you are too focused on your DPS and in Ulduar you get hit with too much AOE to make them useful.

    Wouldn’t you rather have a suffix “the Healer” instead? I mean, that’s what I get called in PUGs anyways, hardly by my name…

    • Troutwort Says:

      “the Healer” is a nice title, but it doesn’t sound ‘first aid’ enough to me. Nurse seems like someone that would administer bandages. That’s why I thought that would be a good one, plus, it’s funnier. 😀

  2. For The Pie Says:

    There are times where a bandage is your only heal. Oculus springs to mind during the mage boss where you stand behind a pillar and bandage to help your healer out, especially if LOS issues crop up.

    Yeah sometimes during raids you would find time to use a bandage as the healer can’t get to you.

    As a pet class player I tend to use bandages more than say a warrior, although during leveling I used them after combat to keep going and not stop to lose as much rage.

  3. repgrind Says:

    Ach!! No!!!!!!! Now that ditty is in my head again. curses on both you AND Cheerios for starting that last night

    ‘Nurse Elgar’ … ooh, that is even better than ‘Troutwort the Out of Ammo’ … and oh my, the RP scenarios that my imagination is coming up with right now *grin*

    • Troutwort Says:

      I can only imagine what Borka, Schubert, and Sibelius will end up with for their homemade titles! Only time will tell…but I’m sure it will! Maybe Sibelius will do something worthy of said title tonight in our Hellfire musings.

  4. theerivs Says:

    Well I can think of one reason. If you make bandages and sell them to the vendor you actually make a profit. As in some cloth doesnt sell that well on AH

  5. repgrind Says:

    OMG. I noticed last night as I was logging out that you even put it as the guild note. You really do enjoy torturing me, don’t you. =P


Leave a Reply

