Goblins and Worgen

Alright, it’s old news for anyone who is actively searching the internet for WoW news.  But the rumors are flying around that the next playable races will be Goblins and Worgen.  Goblins are assumed to be joining the Horde and Worgen assumed to be joining the Alliance.

Goblins have been a long time coming to the Horde if you ask me.  It was either going to be them or Ogres.  But with rumors that the next expansion will be South Seas and the huge Goblin city of Undermine is there it only makes sense.  We assume that much like BC release there will be a new capitol city for each new race and then a neutral capital as well. 

I’m a little rusty/misinformed/confused/possibly-just-making-it-up on the Worgen though.  I understand they brought here from their homeworld against their will.  So either they might be fleeing their homeworld again (on free will this time), or the humans that locked themselves off behind Greymane Wall (I think) have become Worgen and seek to rejoin the Alliance.  I’m not sure how that will all fit in, but hey, I’m sure it will work out.  I’m still a little confused and honestly will have a hard time thinking that there will be Worgen running around Stormwind and Ironforge.  It’s just hard for me to wrap my head around right now. 

Of course all this speculation is based off the data-mining of game files that found Halloween masks for male and female Goblins and Worgen.  It’s all just rumor and speculation at this point.  Blizz refuses to comment.  If it weren’t Worgen though, I can’t imagine what the next race for the Alliance would be actually.  There was all that Worgen lore in Grizzly Hills too.  Maybe I should have read that more closely…

So then of course we get to thinking about what classes will be available for each of the new races, here’s my best guess by race:

Goblins:
Warriors – yes, there are bruisers everywhere.
DK – all races can be DK
Rogue – yes, tiny rogues, I believe there are some currently.
Druid – no, just no.
Hunter – possibly, there are many that seem to use guns…
Shaman – possibly.
Mage – yes, I know I’ve seen these guys.
Priest – yes, I think I’ve seen Goblin healers before.
Warlock – possibly, though I’m not convinced.
Paladin – ha ha, no, seriously, no.

Worgen:
Warriors – yes.
DK – again, all races.
Rogue – possibly, though I’m not convinced.
Druid – slim to none, others think so, I’m not seeing it.
Hunter – yes, I seem to recall some shooting at me before.
Shaman – yes, this will be the healing class for Worgen.
Mage – possibly.
Priest – probably no.
Warlock – they seem to have lots of shadow affinity, I’m gonna say yes.
Paladin – I’m gonna go with no again. 

So my final vote is going to be 5 classes for each (excluding DK).  Goblins get Warrior, Rogue, Hunter, Mage, and Priest.  The Worgen get Warrior, Rogue, Hunter, Shaman, Warlock.  I decided to go with rogue over mage for the Worgen as they seem to be more the maul your face off than burn it off type.  That gives one healing class and one tanking (two with DK) class for each of the new races. 

So now what about the racials?  This gets a bit trickier.  Goblins might have similar abilities to the Gnomes, increased engineering, possible escape move, reduced chance to be hit, or maybe even something opposite of escape move, but instead a net on a cooldown – those Goblins currently all seem to have nets to toss on you.  That would be kinda cool, 3-5 second net on a 2-5 minute cooldown, hilarity.  Or else some short fear on a similar cooldown, Goblin scare or something.  I mean, the things are creepy.  Also for Goblins some sort of discount from vendors or a % sale increase when selling to vendors; or wave AH fees?  For the Worgen I’m seeing increased skill to unarmed (fist) weapons, reduced chance to be hit by shadow spells, some sort of activated howl to increase haste, and maybe some speed burst move as well or even a passive 5-10% increase to run speed (non-stacking), maybe increased skinning skill–he he.  I’m not sure how many abilities each race currently has but I think it’s in the ballpark of 4 with one that is activated and the others are passive. 

Of course it’s all just speculation.  If it happens I’ll have to remember to come back to this post and see if I got any of it correct.  I guess we’ll have to wait to Blizzcon to see if they announce anything there.

8 Responses to “Goblins and Worgen”

  1. lagalot Says:

    re: “Warriors – yes, there are bruisers everywhere”, I dunno bout bruisers being warrior types, they prefer ranged and kite you, only meleeing a little bit when you first engage if up close.

  2. Light Says:

    Problem is that Worgen are plain old evil. The quests in Grizzly Hills show them as bad. The Alliance wants to stamp them out, I don’t see how they can join.

    High elves would make more sense, I mean look at all the ones surrounding the Argent Tournament, and there aren’t supposed to be that many left!

    Goblins are also supposed to be neutral. Would Alliance now get kicked out of Booty Bay or Everlook? I don’t think so.

    I don’t think Blizz is going to put any new classes or races in the next expansion, but that is just me. I think they have their hands full trying to balance the current death knight problem.

    • Troutwort Says:

      You know, I’m going to agree with you there, suddenly it’s like there are all these High Elves even though there weren’t supposed to be that many left. I saw that as a much more logical idea. And yes, goblins are all neutral, I did wonder about the neutral goblin city issue, but thought maybe it was certain goblins. I mean, not all Trolls are bad, some gave me quests for example. So the Steamweedle Cartel may still remain neutral while a new faction of Goblins join the Horde.

      As for the Worgen, yeah, the Worgen to the alliance does seem like a HUGE leap, I still can’t figure it out.

  3. Eldadres Says:

    Honestly, I know that this is seriously a fake. Both of those races make absolutely no sense to put for players to play them. Oh well, maybe I am wrong, but it just makes no sense at all.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Of course there is the rumor of a neutral faction. I can see Goblins as a playable race, Worgen seems like a stretch. Of course it’s all speculation, it’s not like there hasn’t been plenty of that before. We’ll wait for Blizzcon to see if there is anything muttered.

      • Eldadres Says:

        Ah, true say. That would make things very interesting, especially PvP. Blizzcon should at least reveal many answers to the questions I have for Blizz!

  4. Cataclysm « Crits and Giggles Says:

    […] know they were related in a way to the Night Elves.  In my other post on class speculations for Goblins and Worgen I was nearly correct in my predictions and what Blizz came up with.  They had more classes […]


Leave a Reply

