Inscribe This!

Huh? 

Okay, I haven’t looked up any guides so maybe there is one out there somewhere, but it dawned on me last night that my scribe (71 Shaman) is at 444/450.  I am pretty sure the only thing that wasn’t “grey” on his list was “Northrend Inscription Research” which is green and has been since about 440.  I haven’t gotten a point from it in weeks.  I assume it won’t be long before it goes grey as well. 

So I realize that unlike BC, there’s no real benefit to having max profession, I’m not going to get an awesome paper mache hat with some runes on it at 450 that has awesome stats and a set bonus with the pocket protector, but I feel a little “incomplete” being unable to get to 450.  My leatherworker is also at about 445ish.  He still has ‘orange’ patterns though.  I have gotten a few books of glyph mastery, but those patterns were ‘grey’ as well.  So I’m left wondering how it is that I’ll get my scribe up to 450?

/shrug

Maybe I just should accept his failure.  Ha!

Edit:  It appears that the Northrend Darkmoon cards will carry me to 450.  I guess I should start saving my ink.

11 Responses to “Inscribe This!”

  1. Light Says:

    I imagine it is different for each profession. If you have max leatherworking there are some sweet patterns that come out of Ulduar. I need 4 more points in LW before I can make the BiS resto shaman belt (oh, but 6 runed orbs are so EXPENSIVE).

    There are books that drop from higher level mobs in Northrend for inscription (I’ve heard of them dropping in Icecrown).

  2. Troutwort Says:

    @ Arioch, I mean I know there isn’t really a ‘reason’ to have it leveled since you will be able to make all the things you need/can. But it’s one of those completion things, I just wasn’t sure if there was something I was missing. Ohh, I do love Elsprofessions guides. I was so sad when they blocked her site here at work. Boo.

    @ Light, yes I have gotten a few of the books on my other characters and sent them off to him. Sadly he’s only discovered “Glyph of Sucky Skills”. I’m still waiting on glyph of penance discovery!

  3. For The Pie Says:

    Only Horde can max their Inscription. Expect to get one more point then you are done. We call it the nub tax.

    okay I have no idea, my only scribe is still in lowbie status.

  4. repgrind Says:

    I have nothing to say, I’m just bored at work so I figured I’d troll your blog. Looks like Pie beat me to it though.

    • Troutwort Says:

      I have nothing to say as well. Did my note about Gnomer make your page? The web has been being funny. I think if you did Gnomer and all the quests, we could get you to 30. 😉

  5. repgrind Says:

    No, I haven’t seen anything. I only have tonight and tomorrow night (not counting cleaning the bathroom, doing laundry, and uh .. oh ya, packing might be good).

    I’m actually at 27-1/2 and I have a handful of quests for Stocks. Are those the quests you mean? Or are there some for Gnomer I should get?

  6. repgrind Says:

    Between watching wow vids on youtube and plotting dungeon run-throughs of VC, Stocks or Gnomer … I feel the need to play alliance tonight. Wonder if I can get away with it. I mean, there’s always tomorrow for Horde, right?

    • Troutwort Says:

      Stocks, done. That will take less than 30 minutes. We’ll finish those up. The Gnomer ones are in IF – Tinkertown, you should be able to get them soon if you can’t already. That will take 40 minutes. We’ll cruise through them both. I have confidence you can make it.

      Stocks is actually pretty rough though if you do it with a group attuned. I think it was one of the hardest ones. With mobs that kick, disarm and flee into the next room on purpose, and bosses with fear, it can get pretty ugly, plus these is a fairly short respawn timer, I remember having to fight my way back to a boss after we died once…ick. It’s a challenge. I’ll help you though. 😀

  7. Busy Busy Busy « Reputation Grind Says:

    […] and dinner type activities. Then it was on to Winterhoof, where a certain very awesome person had suggested running my cute little mage through a couple instances to try to get to 30 and get his […]


Leave a Reply

