75 and Confused

Schubert my gnome-sized mage recently hit level 75.  He’s specced frost no matter how much abuse he takes for it.  He does pretty well for being frost spec, and his gear is pretty decent as well.  His DPS is comparable in instances with others of similar level, but his overall damage is on the low end, stupid cast times.

But with level 75 came the new spell, Frostfire Bolt.  Oooh fancy!  Everyone loves new spells.  So I moved arcane blast off the tool bar and replaced it with this new spell.  I mean seriously, when did I last use arcane blast?  Arcane missiles also suffered a similar fate.  Anyways, so there I am staring at this new spell, thinking to myself.  Well, what the crap, how does this fit into my rotation of Frostbolts and Ice Lance combos? 

I’m still toying with it, but the best I can figure it so use it first and then watch it’s burn effect, casting frostbolts and ice lance until I need to reapply the frostfire effect.  It still seems to proc my freeze in place, my free fireball, and such, so that’s a good thing, but I can’t tell if it’s adding to, the same, or decreasing my DPS.  I think tonight I’ll have to test it out on one of those dummies I see around Ironforge.

I understand it will come in handy for water type mobs which in the past have sucked royally, but working this into the rotation will take a little bit of skill.  I mean, I’ve been frostbolting since level 4.  And holy crap, that thought is sorta slightly depressing.

Posted in Mage. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “75 and Confused”

  1. repgrind Says:

    I respecced into a FFB build when I hit 75, but I was fire already, so it didn’t feel too weird replacing fireball with it.

    Ok, that’s not true. It felt super strange compared to “burn it before it gets to you” …. but the other talents stayed the same.

    I’m not sure how it works into a frost build; deep frost FFB is kinda unusual, but not unheard of.

    Ask me about fire or arcane and we can talk. 😉

    • Troutwort Says:

      As I mentioned last night, it seems that FFB is only good for an opener when I have time to cast it. The longer cast time compared to frostbolt lowered my DPS overall. Frostbolt straight up seems to be the pro-choice. It will have it’s place, but in a 5-man, it seems frostbolt is the way to go.

  2. Light Says:

    Check on Wowhead or Elitist Jerks?

    I admire you for getting a mage that high, I got mine to 25 and deleted it, I couldn’t stand it.

    PS: spec fire or arcane for max DPS in a 5 man. 🙂

    • Troutwort Says:

      Yeah, fire spec, blah blah blah. There’s this thing, called dying, that I don’t really like. I tried a fire mage. I’ve never died so much in my life, oxymoronic? Frost gives me the control that I want. Ice Barrier, Water Elemental for extra Nova’s, delicious control. I know it technically lags a bit behind in DPS, but compared to the other classes in the 5-mans that I’m doing I’m still pulling comparative DPS to them. I know that might change at 80, but still. I’m gonna try hard!!

      • Light Says:

        That is what they invented dual spec for. 🙂

        That lagging becomes a huge gulf at 80. Seriously, fire and arcane are the only ones that raid. Frost DPS is too low to be competitive. It might work in a five man or a heroic, but if you want to raid you will have to switch.

        We’ve had to beat this into one of our mages several times.

      • Troutwort Says:

        Well I don’t raid much at all anyways, like very minimally. I can’t remember the last time I did. And usually it’s on Elgar the priest anyways, since people know I have a healer and that’s what they usually want.

  3. gnomeaggedon Says:

    mirror meet image…

    Yeah I am fire, always was.. now FFB (I’m still fire damn it!).

    I guess it’s the talents that influence it, but mobs never make it to me… ever… ok maybe once or twice a night… they are snap frozen and burnt to a cinder all in one cast.

    Re: Arcane Blast & Arcane Missiles…
    I did that too… but I got burnt by it (ohh that’s bad)… At least when I was visiting some old world stuff.

    Sure it does frosty damage, but not being specd that way means I might as well be pissing on a bon fire.

    Remember, if some nasty pasty locks you out of your magic schools while casting FFB, you only have Arcane to play with.


Leave a Reply

