Faction Change

On the official Warcraft forums, Nethaera has posted the following information:

We wanted to give everyone a very early heads-up that, in response to player requests, we’re developing a new service for World of Warcraft that will allow players to change their faction from Alliance to Horde or Horde to Alliance. There’s still much work to do and many details to iron out, but the basic idea is that players will be able to use the service to transform an existing character into a roughly equivalent character of the opposing faction on the same realm. Players who ended up creating and leveling up characters on the opposite factions from their friends have been asking for this type of functionality for some time, and we’re pleased to be getting closer to being able to deliver it.

For the full post go here.

So this is very interesting.  Blizz at one point said it would never do this, but it seems they have changed their mind.  I am all for it.  If people are willing to pay money to change factions and avoid leveling a new character, go for it.  This also lends promise to any abandoned alts that people have laying around.  Sometimes friends play on the opposite faction and you don’t play with them because the idea of leveling up a new alt seems, well, overwhelming.  This would let those alts transfer factions and you could start out at a much better place with your friends.

Some people will surely be upset about this, saying it ruins storyline, blah blah blah.  Personally, I could give a rats if people want to do it.  I could think of really only one or two characters that might end up making the switch.  I have a hunter in her mid 60s that has basically been rotting there.  So who knows. 

I’m gonna give Blizz the thumbs up on this one.  I liked when they allowed gender changes, I will like this one too. 

Addition to Post (9:45am CST):  After discussing this with my co-worker, he wondered if he could change race within the faction as well.  Can I make my human priest a dwarf now?  Or can I change my NE hunter to a draenei for more hit?  He was convinced he’d change from NE to draenei on his hunter so fast.  I don’t think I would change the race of any of my toons to another within my own faction.  But I can see why some people would want to.

12 Responses to “Faction Change”

  1. Light Says:

    I don’t know how they would work this out lore wise… but I like this. I’d love to have a high level horde alt to play the auction house and trade pets.

    Though I suppose this could also be seen as cheating… roll a new character on your main faction to 80 with heirloom items and then switch factions?

    It would be a lot easier if they just let you mail your own characters stuff cross-faction.

    • Troutwort Says:

      Hmm, I didn’t even think of the heirloom items, but yes, it would make sense. The biggest thing I was thinking would cause trouble is reputations. Some of the Horde/Alliance only reps could be trouble. Also wondered how achievements would be handled, some are faction specific as well.

      • Light Says:

        I think most have an opposing faction, right? Sunreavers/Silver Covenant kind of thing. The only thing I can think of off the top of my head is Wintersaber Trainers for Alliance, but if you switched to Horde you would just delete all rep gained with that faction, including your mount if you got one.

      • Troutwort Says:

        People still talk of “detractors” where you stay the same race and join the other faction. I doubt that would ever happen though. Gnomes and Tauren fighting side by side?!? Unpossible.

  2. Light Says:

    Blood elf Alliance pally FTW! =D

    No, I don’t think they will let you change your race on the same faction. But who knows, they said they would never allow a lot of things that are happening now.

    WTB faction betrayal questline.

  3. Adorand Says:

    Yep, I’d so switch to space goat for the +hit.

  4. forthepie Says:

    I can neither confirm nor deny my willingness to do this here switch.

  5. Anea Says:

    Hm, I hadn’t thought about Heirlooms and such either… man, it’s just getting messier and messier, isn’t it?

    I hadn’t even thought about in-faction race changes at all when I first heard it. And actually, as much as I like Anea as a Space Goat, I’m in quite the Dwarf phase right now and would probably consider thinking about changing her to a Dwarf. Not sure if I’d actually go through with it, but it’s a thought!

  6. forthepie Says:

    BTW, they have posted some basic Q&A on this process. I found it in the feed from MMO Champion but I can’t get to the forums at work.


Leave a Reply

