Back to the Basics

I spent the weekend away from all internet as I headed north to visit my parents who now are retired and living on a lake.  The quality family time with them and my two brothers was great.  Beautiful weekend weather and many successful fishing outings topped it all off.

It was a great way to spend the weekend.  Though I did wish I had a screenshot button on my life.  I was out fishing with Mom and we were having good luck fishing for some bass, when I tied into a really nice one only to learn we had no net and no camera with us.  Apparently we fail at packing the boat.  So we only have memories of the large fish.  We did land it though, but a picture would have been fantastic.

I’d also like to toss out this reminder that May sunshine, even in northern Wisconsin, can turn anyone into a red lobster.  WTB aloe, please.  Next time, I’ll remember the sunscreen, the net, and the camera.

Hope everyone else had a great memorial day.

2 Responses to “Back to the Basics”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Spring and Fall are definately my favorite seasons as I don’t like the summer heat and winters here in Canada require may too much shoveling:)

    In Newfoundland where I grew up we fished all summer. I compare fishing to farming in the game. Its relaxing and you really feel a sense of peace. Only difference is that in the game I’m usually listening to a podcast or something on Youtube while I farm.

    Hope you have many more great fishing adventures and yeah I’d love to see some pics:)

    • Troutwort Says:

      @ Cathy

      Thanks for stopping by! In Wisconsin, I can relate to your Canadian seasons very well. I’ll hopefully get some fish this summer worth showing off, with my luck though, that bass will be my biggest one all season and of course no camera.


Leave a Reply

