The Need for Moggin

When Blizzard announced in patch 4.3 that they would introduce the transmogrification that would allow you to change the look of your gear into anything else (well almost anything) I was so happy.  I had been collecting gear over the years and hanging onto it, just because it looked cool.  Elgar and Sousa had outfits almost immediately and Sibelius got his and Rossini whipped one up based on some new shoulder he found.  I still have two disasters left though.  And boy, are they disasters.

After reading some other blogs I decided this weekend that I should finally get the WoW Model Viewer to help save me some time when picking out outfits, especially if I didn’t want tier sets.  Elgar, Sibelius, and Sousa all have Tier sets.  Rossini’s is an original design and I wanted to get something more original for the next ones.

So here’s what I was looking at that needed a fix.  Troutwort the hunter and Schubert the mage.

Troutwort

Schubert

Could it get much worse?  I’m not going to accept that challenge.  I’m sure it can.  But as you can see…they look like bags of skittles.  Mind you that I don’t raid and that I don’t think Troutwort can even get into the HoT instances, but still something must be done.  So I played around with the model viewers and here’s what I came up with.  The next projects will be getting all this gear.  I’ll make a gear list later if anyone is interested, but I’m too tired tonight.  So here they are in their future new and improved forms.

Troutwort - Future

Schubert - Future

As you can see we’ve got themes now and considerable improvements!!  For Troutwort, the chest and pants are matching quest rewards from lower levels quests in Thousand Needles and Tanaris.  The other items are mixed bag though, the gloves and shoulders do not come from that leveling set.  Schubert had a similar scenario where the shoulders and chest are matching leveling set but the other items come from all over.  I chose simple weapons for both of them, Troutwort is shown holding his bow and his polearm.  That staff Schubert has is the Dwarven Medic Staff which is a green mid-20s staff.  That might be the hardest part to get!

My strategy for Troutwort’s outfit was to find shoulders first and build from there, since often shoulders are the worst part to deal with.  For Schubert though since the robes are far more important, I picked the robes out first.  I didn’t recall seeing robes like that before.  Though he’s mostly a frost mage, this set looks more arcane, but still, I like the blues and greys of it.  The purple accents allow for some flexibility as well…the cloak for Schubert was actually the biggest challenge…though gloves were no walk in the park and I’m still not sure I’m sold on the ones he has.

Playing with the model viewer really made it much easier to do transmogging plans.  There are lots of items in the game and it’s hard to know what goes together.  The only thing about the model viewer is it also has a few things that you can no longer get in the game, so I got teased MANY times with things that looked cool only to find out they don’t exist anymore.  For anyone who enjoys transmogging, I do suggest getting the model viewer.  You can upload your existing characters which really helps make sure the outfit you pick will look good on your character.

Now with these plans, I have new goals to add to the list of things to do before Pandaria.

2 Responses to “The Need for Moggin”

  1. wolfgangcat Says:

    Very nice! I especially like Trout’s ensemble because the colors work together so well and something you don’t see very often.

    Schubert’s “look” is a huge improvement – the hat is wonderful and the gloves look like part of the set!

    • Troutwort Says:

      Thanks! I was really happy with the way Trout’s outfit came together. I had thought about doing it in green because there are shoulders with the same model in green, but really thought the orange looked good. Sort of an “Azshara hunter” look.

      Thanks for the compliments!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

